Skip to main content

Citation Help for APA, 7th Edition: Book Chapter & Ebook Chapter

Help with common issues and questions with APA 7th edition

General Example & Explanation

General example of a book chapter reference with each part of the reference, including author, copyright date, chapter title, editors, book title, edition, chapter pages, publisher, DOI, color coded with corresponding explanation in matching color coded text boxes.

Image Credit: American Psychological Association. (2019). APA Style 7th ed. Quick Reference Guide. Copyright American Psychological Association 2019. Image used with permission. 

Variation - Multiple Authors?

Multiple Authors - 20 Authors or Less?

 

List all authors up to and including 20 authors. 

Example

Clarke, N., D'Amato, A., Higgs, M., & Ramesh, V. (2018). Responsible leadership in projects: Insights into ethical decision making. Project Management Institute.

Explanation

List each author's last name first followed by a comma. Then, add the initials for the first and middle names (if there is one). Add a period after each initial. Separate each author with a comma. Insert an ampersand (&) before the last author.

Parenthetical & Narrative Citations

For one or two authors, list all authors in the reference. For three or more authors, list the first author followed by et al. This includes the first time the source is used in the paper. 

Parenthetical Citation Example

(Clarke et al., 2018)

Narrative Citation Example

Clarke et al. (2018) found ......


Multiple Authors - 21 or More Authors?

 

List the first 19 authors' names, then insert an ellipse, and then add the last author's name.

Example

Gilbert, J. R., Smith, J. D., Johnson, R. S., Anderson, A., Plath, S., Martin, G., Sorenson, K., Jones, R., Adams, T., Rothbaum, Z., Esty, K., Gibbs, M., Taultson, B., Christner, G, Paulson, L., Tolo, K., Jacobson, W. L., Robinson, R. A., Maurer, O., . . . White, N. (2014). Choosing a title (2nd ed.). Unnamed  Publishing.

Parenthetical Citation Example

(Gilbert et al., 2014)

Narrative Citation Example

Gilbert et al. (2014) ...

More Information

For more information about author format, see Section 9.8 on page 286 of the APA Manual, 7th edition.

Variation - Group Author?

Example

American Psychological Association. (2019). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

Explanation

Group authors include the name of a study group, government agency, association, corporation, task force, hospital, organization, etc. Put the name of the group author in the author position followed by a period. Do not include an abbreviation for the group author within the reference. Abbreviations should only be introduced and used within the body of the paper.

Parenthetical Citation

(American Psychological Association, 2019)

Narrative Citation

American Psychological Association (2019) ....

More information

For more information about group authors, see Section 9.11 on pages 288-289 of the APA Manual, 7th edition.

Variation - Edition?

Example

Smith, S. F., Duell, D. J., Martin, B. C. Aebersold, M. L., & Gonzalez, L. (2016). Clinical nursing skills: Basic to advanced skills (9th ed.). Pearson.

Explanation

Place the edition number in parentheses after the book title. Follow by "ed." and a period outside the parentheses. There is no period after the book title.

More Information

For more information about editions or volumes, see Section. 9.28 on page 295 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Chapter in an Authored Print Book or Authored Ebook From the CSS Library Ebook Collections Without a DOI

Introduction

 

Identifying the format, platform, or device (e.g., ebook, Kindle book, etc.) of a chapter in an authored ebook is no longer needed. A chapter in an authored ebook from an academic collection should be treated as a chapter in an authored print book with the reference ending with the publisher. For a chapter in an authored print book or ebook with a DOI, see Chapter in an Authored Book with a DOI.

 

More Information:

For more information about citing books, see Section 10.2 on page 321-325 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Example

 

Mehrotra, C. M., & Wagner, L. S. (2019). Aging and diversity: An active learning experience (2nd ed.). Routledge.

 

Explanation

 

To create a reference for a chapter in an authored book, just create a reference for the entire book. Follow the authored print book example as a guide for creating the reference in the reference list. Do not include any chapter information within the reference. Instead, within the body of the paper, refer to the Chapter in the parenthetical or narrative citation. 

 

More Information:

For more information, see Section 10.2 on page 321 (opening remarks) and Section 8.13 on page 264 of the APA Manual, 7th edition.

 

Parenthetical & Narrative Citation Examples

 

Parenthetical Citation Example:

(Mehrotra & Wagner, 2019, Chapter 2)

Narrative Citation Example:

According to Mehrotra and Wagner (2019), active learning ..... (Chapter 2). 

 

More Information: 

For more information about authors in parenthetical and narrative citations, see Section 8.17 and Table 8.1 on page 266 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

 

Chapter in an Edited Print Book or Edited Ebook From the CSS Library Ebook Collections Without a DOI

Introduction

 

Identifying the format, platform, or device (e.g., ebook, Kindle book, etc.) of a chapter in an edited book is no longer needed. A chapter in an edited ebook from an academic collection should be treated as a chapter in an edited print book. For a chapter in an edited print book or edited ebook from an academic collection that has a DOI, see Chapter in an Edited Book with a DOI.

 

More Information:

For more information about citing books, see Section 10.2 on page 321-325 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Example

 

Brotzman, S. B., & Novotny, S. R. (2018). Historical perspectives in orthopaedic manual physical therapy. In C. E. Giangarra &

R. Manske (Eds.), Clinical orthopaedic rehabilitation: A team approach (4th ed., pp. 2-15). ELSEVIER.

 

Explanation

 

Authors of the Chapter: Brozman, S. B., & Novotny, S. R.

Begin the reference with the first author's last name. Add a comma after the author's last name. Then, add the author's first and middle name always represented by initials. Add a period after each initial. If the author has a middle name, add a space between the first and middle initial. Add a comma after the middle initial. Add additional authors in order exactly as listed following the same steps. Do not change the order of the authors! Before the last author, add an ampersand (&). 
 

Year of Publication: (2018).

Next, add the date the book was published. Examine the title page or the title verso page (back side of the title page) to determine the date of publication. Place in parentheses with a period following the parentheses. 
 

Title & Subtitle of the Chapter: Historical perspectives in orthopaedic manual physical therapy.

Next, add the title and subtitle of the chapter. The title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of the title and subtitle as well as any proper nouns. End with a period.
 

Editor(s) of the Book: In C. E. Giangarra & R. Manske (Eds.),

Next, include the word "In" before the editor(s). List names of editors beginning with initials for the first and middle names. Add a period after each initial, and if there is a middle initial, add a space between the initials. Following the initials of each editor will be the editor's last name. List editors in the order as they appear on the title page. Place an ampersand (&) before the last editor followed by Eds. in parentheses (or Ed. if there is only one) with a comma after the parentheses.
 

Title & Subtitle of the Book: Clinical orthopaedic rehabilitation: A team approach 

Next, add the title and subtitle of the book. The title and subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize only the first word of title and subtitle as well as any proper nouns. Italicize title and subtitle. Do not add a period after the title!
 

Edition & Page numbers: (4th ed., pp. 2-15).

Next, add the edition of the book (if there is one) and the page numbers of the chapter. The edition is added by adding the number and the abbreviation for edition, which is "ed." Add a period and comma after ed. Then, add the page numbers of the chapter, which are preceded by the abbreviation for pages, which is "pp." Place in parentheses, and add a period after the parentheses. 
 

Source Information: ELSEVIER.

Complete the reference with the source information, which is the publisher. The publisher's name should be listed exactly as it appears on the title page including retaining the capitalization and spelling as it appears on the title page. End the reference with a period. NOTE: Do not include designations of business structure (e.g., Inc., Ltd., LLC, etc.).

 

More Information: 

For more information about book citations, see page 326 of the APA Manual, 7th ed. For author format, title format, or source (publication) information, see pages 285-289, pages 291-293, and pages 293-301 respectively in the APA Manual, 7th ed.

 

Parenthetical & Narrative Citation Examples

 

Parenthetical Citation Example: 

(Brotzman & Novotny, 2018)

Narrative Citation Example: 

Brotzman and Novotny (2018) demonstrated .....
 

More Information: 

For more information about authors in parenthetical and narrative citations, see Section 8.17 and Table 8.1 on page 266 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Chapter in an Authored Print Book or Authored Ebook From the CSS Library Ebook Collections with a DOI

Introduction

 

Identifying the format, platform, or device (e.g., ebook, Kindle book, etc.) of a chapter in an authored ebook is no longer needed. A chapter in an authored ebook from an academic collection should be treated as a chapter in an authored print book. For a chapter in an authored print book or ebook without a DOI, see Chapter in an Authored Book without a DOI.

 

More Information:

For more information about citing books, see Section 10.2 on page 321-325 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Example 

 

Green, C. (2019). Incivility among nursing professionals in clinical and academic environments: Emerging research and opportunities.

IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-7341-8

Explanation

 

To create a reference for a chapter in an authored book, just create a reference for the entire book. Follow the example of an authored print book as a guide for creating the reference in the reference list. Do not include any chapter information within the reference. Instead, within the body of the paper, refer to the Chapter in the parenthetical or narrative citation. 

At the end of the reference, after the publisher, add the DOI using the current DOI URL format. The current standard for the DOI begins with "https://doi.org/". Do not add a period after the DOI. 

 

More Information: 

For more information about book references with a DOI, see page 321 and page 322 of the APA Manual, 7th ed. For additional source (publication) information, see pages 293-301 in the APA Manual, 7th edition.

 

Parenthetical & Narrative Citation Examples

 

Parenthetical Citation Example:

(Green, 2019, Chapter 5)

Narrative Citation Example: 

In Chapter 5, Green (2019) outlined ..... 

OR 

Green (2019) demonstrated ..... (Chapter 5).  

 

More Information: 

For more information about authors in parenthetical and narrative citations, see Section 8.17 and Table 8.1 on page 266 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Chapter in an Edited Print Book or Edited Ebook From the CSS Library Ebook Collections with a DOI

Introduction

 

Identifying the format, platform, or device (e.g., ebook, Kindle book, etc.) of a chapter in an edited ebook is no longer needed. A chapter in an edited ebook from an academic collection should be treated as a chapter in an edited print book. For a chapter in an edited print book or ebook without a DOI, see Chapter in an Edited Book without a DOI.

 

More Information:

For more information about citing books, see Section 10.2 on page 321-325 of the APA Manual, 7th edition. 

Example for a Chapter in an Edited Book with DOI

 

Jenkins, S. (2018). Perspectives on behavioral development. In R. Gibb & B. Kolb (Eds.), The neurology of brain and

behavioral development (pp. 29-80). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2015-0-00695-5

Explanation

 

To create a reference for a chapter in an edited book, follow the example for a chapter in an edited book without a DOI. At the end of the reference, after the publisher, add the DOI using the current DOI URL format. The current standard for the DOI begins with "https://doi.org/". Do not add a period after the DOI. 

 

More Information: 

For more information about book references with a DOI, see page 321 and page 322 of the APA Manual, 7th ed. For additional source (publication) information, see pages 293-301 in the APA Manual, 7th edition.

 

Parenthetical & Narrative Citation Examples

 

Parenthetical Citation Example: 

(Jenkins, 2018)

Narrative Citation Example: 

Jenkins (2018) formulated .....
 

More Information: 

For more information about authors in parenthetical and narrative citations, see Section 8.17 and Table 8.1 on page 266 of the APA Manual, 7th edition.