Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Incipit (and so it begins)
Title page of the first issue of Philosophical Trans- actions of the Royal Society, the scientific journal that started it all.
Journals, A to Z
Use Journals, A to Z to find the full-text of an article or to browse the table of contents of a journal. Do not use it to search for articles.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.
Getting started with articles
Journal articles are the primary means of sharing scholarship & research in the academic, medical, and scientific communities. They are focused scholarship, written for a professional and informed audience. As a student who is new to a topic, they can be difficult to read. Encyclopedias can give you context for articles and books can provide an understanding of the broader topic.
Databases, A to Z
A master list of the Library's databases. Browse our A to Z list by title or subject, or use our "best bets" below to get started.
Tutorials for Databases
To find out more about how to use these databases including advanced searching and how to export citations to Endnote, click on this link: Tutorials
SOLAR is a database of databases. It searches all our Library resources and even some we don't own. It's a little like the old "feeling lucky" button in Google. But just like Google, or any tool, there is right time to use it. And like Google, the results can be overwhelming. Sometimes using one of our focused, discipline-specific databases can make you luckier.
Full-text of Duluth's paper from 1996 to the present.
Landing page for various newspaper collections provided by Readex. National & international coverage. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswire sources, and historical collections.
National, regional, and local newspapers with some coverage dating back to 1980. Also includes Hispanic newspapers and transcripts & video from CBS’ new magazine, 60 Minutes.
Access World News
Over 6,00 full-text, English language news sources from the United States and around the world.