Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our catalog is named after Scholaticat, the legendary monastic feline (feles bibliothecia - the "cat of the library"). Stop by the Library and pick up a Scholasticat tee-shirt today.
e-Textbooks in the health sciences.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts dating from medieval times to 1900.
Business Expert Press
This collection includes over 300 current ebooks in management. We have rights for multiple users so they may be used in Blackboard or on course pages.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
See the first three hundred years of English language books in their new digital interface! Digitized editions of all books published in the United Kingdom from 1473-1700.
eBook Nursing Collection
Over 500 full-text nursing titles.
eBooks on a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages, featuring content from Minnesota's independent publishers
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
R2 Digital Library
Growing collection of eBooks for the health sciences and nursing
Getting started with books
The printed book created the modern world. For your research, they provide you with the depth to explore a topic at length - neither the overview of an encyclopedia nor the tight focus of a journal article.
Borrowing books from other libraries
People still speak of the Internet "freeing" information. But not everything a futurist dreams comes to fruition. Copyright law restricts the lending of ebooks. However, libraries have hundreds of years of history of lending printed books, and we still do it today. As a CSS student you have access to almost every library in the state. If you can give us a week, we can open the door for you to over 5 million printed books.
Search the collections of over 60 academic & public libraries. Use the "request item" link to have book delivered to our Library for pick-up.
Search the combined collections of the libraries of 14 countries. Because of the national & international scope of this collection, our ability to borrow titles for you may have restrictions. Use our Interlibrary Loan form to request a title.
Find books the old-fashioned way
Use our Library Browser to browse selected books, reference books, children's books, and DVDs added to our collection.
The Big Red Books Gone Digital
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) has been actively maintained since 1898 to catalog materials held at the Library of Congress.
Books in the public domain
As a rule, any book published before the 1920s is not protected by copyright and has moved into the public domain. Various entities have developed projects to digitize these books.
Digitized books & magazines.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Other local libraries
Duluth Public Library
Homepage of the Duluth Public Library - a best bet for local history & pleasure reading.
University of Minnesota Duluth
The other academic library. CSS students may use the UMD library after obtaining a special borrower's card (no cost). Remember, CSS students - don't assume UMD has something we do not have because it's "bigger." Start with the CSS Library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.