Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Tools for eBooks
In addition to searching the individual collections listed on the right, there are several other strategies that can be used for tapping into the Library's eBooks.
You can use ScholastiCAT, our Library catalog, to search for eBooks by keyword, author, title or subject heading. The catalog does not search within the text of ebooks.
SOLAR is a "discovery tool" which can be used for searching against nearly all of the Library's resources including eBooks. Since SOLAR searches the contents of our catalog (ScholastiCAT), it will include eBooks in search results. In SOLAR, try limiting your results after a search, by clicking on "eBooks" under "Source Type" on the left-hand menu.
This is an excellent tool for discovering the contents of our electronic (and print) reference books. After entering your search terms, Reference Universe provides links to electronic reference books when they are available.
eBooks in Public Libraries
So far, our eBook collection is mostly comprised of academic titles which support CSS courses and research.
Keep in mind that public libraries in the region are developing impressive collections of eBooks that might be of more interest for leisure reading. To get started, check these pages at Duluth Public Library or the Arrowhead Library System. All that you need to borrow eBooks for free is a valid public library borrower's card.
Below are the major sources of ebooks offered by the Library.
Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
This collection includes 335 eBooks in management. We have rights for multiple users of these titles so they may be used in Blackboard or on course pages.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection
EBSCO's multi-disciplinary collection includes over 201,528 academic eBooks. The Library has unlimited access to these titles for the CSS community so it is possible for faculty to create links to individual titles in Blackboard or on course pages.
EBSCO eBooks include over 140,000 titles. This includes all of the titles from the Academic Collection (see above) as well as additional titles from EBSCO which we have acquired over the past 10 years.
This is a new collection of 38 eBook titles in the health sciences. Titles include Clinical Case Studies in Physiotherapy, Ergonomics for Therapists, Exercise Physiology in Special Populations, and Finding the Evidence for Practice.
IGI Global Research
IGI Global Research includes two in-depth collections with hundreds of eBooks for Business and Medicine. The Library has purchased rights for multiple users for all of these titles so that they may be posted in Blackboard or in LibGuide reading lists.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of eBooks for the health sciences and nursing
Sage Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Using eBook Readers
Nooks and most other e-readers (except Kindle)
Since nearly all of our eBooks are in PDF format, you should be able to read the texts on personal devices which support PDF. You can download and use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer PDF files from your computer to most eBook readers except for the Kindle. Adobe Digital Editions can also be used for "checking out" titles from the EBSCO eBook collections.
Adobe Digital Editions is compatible with dozens of devices. We have developed specific directions for using Adobe Digital Editions with the Nook. The same directions should be adaptable to other devices which are compatible with Adobe Digital Editions.
Bluefire Reader is recommended for downloading our EBSCO eBooks for offline reading on Apple iOS and Android devices. The software is not necessary if you are simply reading eBooks when visiting the EBSCO sites.
Although the Kindle is not compatible with Adobe Digital Editions, it is now possible to use Send to Kindle to email PDF files to your Kindle reader. The process is reasonably straightforward.
Instructions for eBooks - Video Tutorials
Navigating Ebsco eBooks
Shows how to navigate eBooks in the Ebsco eBook collections (4 min. 38 sec.)
Using the Tools in Ebsco eBooks
Discusses the various tools available in the Ebsco eBook collections and how to save, email, and print pages from eBooks in these collections (8 min. 38 sec.)
Instructions for eBooks - PDFs
Explains how to use eBooks in SOLAR including information on permalinks and how to save, email, or print portions.
eBooks - Complete
Explains how you can find and download eBooks the Library has access to for your Nook, Kindle, or iOS device (iPad, iPod, or iPhone).
Help for Using EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO's Help for eBooks
When using EBSCO for eBooks such as those in SOLAR, this link has instructions from EBSCO on how to use their eBooks.