Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Frontispiece to the Encyclopaedia by Denis Diderot, 18th century engraving. Image from Art Museum Image Gallery
This Spanish-language encyclopedia from Britannica includes more than 47,000 articles plus about 8,000 images.
Getting started with Encyclopedias
User Reference Universe to browse the table of contents and indexes of thousands of print & electronic encyclopedias. Use the "online resources" box in the right-hand column to limit to e-resources.
Master List of Subject Encyclopedias
A master list of scholarly print & electronic encyclopedias organized by discipline. Electronic titles will have links to full-text content.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias & other reference sources. Includes subject guides and links to related resources in our other databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
Sage Reference Collection
Scholarly encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Encyclopedias in literature, history, & science.
Dictionaries & word histories
Word Histories & Placenames
Tutorials for Top Reference Resources