CSSLibraryGuides: Keeping up with the News: Home

Selected National Newspapers

Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1996. One day delay for current issue.
Houston Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Same day coverage using image file. Full-text back to 2017.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Same day coverage. Full-text back to 1996.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1980. One day delay for current issue.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1984. One day delay for current issue.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1987. One day delay for current issue.

Newspaper Collections

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Over 6,00 full-text, English language news sources from the United States and around the world.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Landing page for various newspaper collections provided by Readex. National & international coverage. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswire sources, and historical collections.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
National, regional, and local newspapers with some coverage dating back to 1980. Also includes Hispanic newspapers and transcripts & video from CBS’ new magazine, 60 Minutes.

Minnesota Newspapers

Logo of the Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News-Tribune This link opens in a new window
Read today's Duluth News Tribune using the image file. Full-text articles of the DNT available from present back to 1996.
Minnesota Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
MN papers, starting in 1843. Includes the Duluth News-Tribune (1881-1922).

St. Paul Pioneer Press This link opens in a new window
Read today's Pioneer Press using the image file. Full-text articles of the Pioneer Press available from present back to 1988.
Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1986 - present. One day delay for current issue.

Minnesota Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Keep up with local Minnesota home-town with this collection of 64 current Minnesota newspapers.

College Newspapers

Archive of student newspapers
Scriptorium: 1932-1969. Cable: 1977 to 2018. Script: 2018 - present.
The Script Archive
Archive of the Script, April 2018 - present.
The Cable
Student newspaper, 1977-1980.
Scriptorium
Student newspaper, 1932-1942.

Historical Newspapers

African American Serials This link opens in a new window
173 African American periodicals, dating from 1816-1922.
American Broadsides and Ephemera Series I This link opens in a new window
Built in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimiles of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An eclectic & messy historical archive from Google.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
Digitized Minneapolis newspapers from the late 19th and early 20th century.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The world's first illustrated newspaper. Complete digitized run, 1845-2003.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new window
Historical Minnesota newspapers, including the Duluth Evening Herald and the Duluth Herald.
Minnesota Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
MN papers, starting in 1843. Includes the Duluth News-Tribune (1881-1922).
New York Times, Historical (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window
Complete digitized New York Times, from its first edition in 1851 to five years from the present.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U. S. newspapers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
One search of 19th Century British and American newspapers, the Illustrated London News Archive, & the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

Cite a newspaper article

International Newspapers

International News Sources This link opens in a new window
Over 2,500 news sources [in English] from around the world.
Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new window
Spanish language newspapers from Access World News.

American Historical Magazines & Journals

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections includes digitized images form over 6,500 magazines & journals from the Colonial Era through Reconstruction. The five series cover the following periods -

Series 1: 1684-1820 | Series 2: 1821-1837 | Series 3: 1838-1852 | Series 4: 1853-1865 | Series 5: 1866-1912

American Antiquarian Society

Select / Deselect all
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5