Skip to main content

Tutorials for Learning to Use the Resources of the CSS Library: Home

.PDF and narrated tutorials for learning to use Library services and resources.

Brought to you by your friendly CSS librarians...

Tu tu tutorials!In order to help you learn how to use the Library's resources, we have created a variety of tutorials including PDFs with step-by-step instructions and pictures and short, narrated movies explaining various tools and tips for how to use them.

Click here if you need to download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the PDFs.

Getting Started

Distance Students

Finding Full-Text

If you cannot find the full-text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list. This site will search both the CSS print subscriptions and all the CSS databases.

A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals    

NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!

Instructions for finding the full-text of an article

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Email GraphicInterlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.


How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form. 

More information about interlibrary loan

Instructions on how to do an interlibrary loan

Turnitin

Turnitin Logo
CSS has a subscription to Turnitin, an online plagiarism program. Turnitin compares submitted papers to its database full of Internet sites, other papers, and online resources. It generates an originality report which can be used to check for plagiarism and to double check student's work.

Instructions for Databases

Ask Us @ CSS

Instructions for Online Encyclopedias, Library Catalog, and eBooks

EndNote

EndNote is software that can organize, store, and input citations into Word documents to help you with your research. The College of St. Scholastica has a site license which offers two options for you to access Endnote and you can either pick one or use both as the situation warrants.

1. EndNote Download
To download EndNote, click on the appropriate computer link below, log in to the Intranet, and click on save. EndNote will then be installed on your computer. 
2. EndNote Web