Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Playing to the Sheep
Shepherd musician, from Annunciation of the Shepherds, (12th century fresco).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Songs of the Troubadours and Trouveres: An Anthology of Poems and Melodies
Call Number: Ref. M1730.S74 1998
Words and "sheet" music when possible. Includes CD-Rom of poetry & songs.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Call Number: Ref. ML102 .I5 N48
International & historical coverage of musical instruments & their makers.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Ref. NX440 .A787 2005
5 volumes. Vol. 4 & 5 of this set focus on Europe from 814 A.D. - 1600 A.D. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. ML100 .N48 2000
29 volumes. One of the definitive scholarly resources on music, Grove's offers country entries on music that are broken down by time period. The New Grove Dictionary of Music is also available online as part of Oxford Music Online.
Get in the Mood
NAXOS features some medieval music & much Renaissance music. All told, over 92,000 music CDs are available streaming for your enjoyment.
Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.