Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Siegfried & Regin
"Testing of Sword on Anvil by Smith Regin," from the Nordic saga of Siegfried [ or Sigurd] - (12th century wood panel from Setesdale Church, Norway).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Call Number: Ref. CB351 .C63 2001x
A collection of more than 4,000 terms and expressions from medieval culture.
The Arthurian Name Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. DA152.5.A7 B78 1999
Names & characters appearing in Arthurian literature from the 6th to the 19th century.
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend
Call Number: Ref. DA152.5 .A7 L87 2005
Chapter long articles on characters and themes, with extensive bibliographies.
The New Arthurian Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA152.5.A7 N48 1991
Comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of Arthurian literature, scholarship, etc.
Classical Myths and Legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Call Number: Ref. PN669 .B78 1998
Describes the allegorical meaning of classical mythological characters in medieval & Renaissance writings.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Call Number: Ref. PN669 .R88 2006
Brief articles with biographies.
A Dictionary of Medieval Heroes
Call Number: Ref. PN682 .C5 V3513 2000x
Articles on the popular heroes of medieval literature (historical & non-historical)
Medieval Drama: Critical Concepts in Literary and Cultural Studies
Call Number: Ref. PN1751 .M44 2007
4 volumes. Chapter-length scholarly essays.
Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages: Eleventh to Fifteenth Century
Call Number: Ref. PQ151 .L56 1999
Biographical information on authors, along with summaries of their works and a list of primary & secondary source by and about the authors. A few articles on genres, such as animal stories.
The Dante Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. PQ4333 .D36 2000
Brief articles with bibliographies on Dante's works & world.
A Bibliography of Modern Arthuriana (1500-2000)
Call Number: Ref. PR149 .A79 H69x 2006
Title is self-explanatory.
Old and Middle English Literature
Call Number: Ref. PR166 .O43 1994
Describes the original manuscripts of Old & Middle English literature & their history. Includes bibliography of secondary sources.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature
Call Number: Ref. PA2025 .O94 2012
The Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature
Call Number: Ref. PR411 .E53 2012
3 volumes. Focus on biography of writers.
Major Tudor Authors: A Bio-Bibiiographical Critical Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref. PR411 .M25 1997
A Dictionary of Stage Directions in English Drama, 1580-1642
Call Number: Ref. PR658.S59 D47 1999
Paragraph long descriptions with listings of plays in which the direction is used.
The Facts on File Companion to British Poetry Before 1600
Call Number: Ref. PR1175 .F19 2008
The Palgrave Literary Dictionary of Chaucer
Call Number: Ref. PR1903 .A53 2006
The Oxford Companion to Chaucer
Call Number: Ref. PR1903 .O94 2003
All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World
Call Number: Ref. PR1903 .R55 2007
Chaucer A to Z
Call Number: Ref. PR1903 .R67 1999
Brief articles on characters, background, scholars, etc.
The Routledge Guide to William Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref. PR1903 .R67 1999
Coffee-table book presentation. Gorgeous photos of period artifacts and lots of good info.
The Facts on File Companion to Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .B26 2012
5 volumes. Comprehensive - covers all works & provides background of the times.
Shakespeare's Plants and Gardens: A Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PR3041 .T56 2014
Pronouncing Shakespeare's Words: A Guide from A to Zounds
Call Number: Ref. PR3081 .C87 1998
Shakespeare: Staging the World
Call Number: Ref. PR3000 .B38 2012
Beautiful "coffee-table book" presentation. Gorgeous photos of period artifacts & great info, too.
British Drama, 1533-1642: A Catalogue
Call Number: Ref. Z2014.D7 W544 2012
Vol. 1. A listing & history of all theater productions in England.
Shakespeare's Religious Language: A Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .H37 2015
The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analysis
Call Number: Ref. PR2976 .D43 2017
Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.