CSSLibraryGuides: Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection: General Works

The Scholar

Erasmus of Rotterdam, engraving by Albrecht Durer, 1526.

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

General Works

The Celts: History, Life, and Culture
Call Number: Ref. CB206 .C48 2012
2 volumes. Celtic life from the Iron Age to the beginning of the 21st century.
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Post-Classical World
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .L29 1999
The Mediterranean world, from 250 – 800 A.D.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th edition
Call Number: Ref DE5 .O9 2012
A good one-stop source for references you might find to what happened before the medieval world.
Encyclopedia of the Medieval World (600 to 1450)
2016.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World
Call Number: Ref. CB351 .E53 2008
4 volumes. Broad range of topics & non-European coverage.
All Things Medieval : An Encyclopedia of the Medieval World
Call Number: Ref. CB551 .J675 2011
2 volumes. Articles on the material world of the Middle Ages - locks & keys, beverages, shipss & boats, etc.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Ref. CB361 .E52 1999
6 volumes. Published in association with the Renaissance Society of America.
World History Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D9 .W67 2011
21 volumes. See volumes 7-13. Broad themes across cultures.
Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D70 .C45x 2006
5 volumes. Celtic culture, from pre-history to the present.
The Early Medieval World: From the Fall of Rome to the Time of Charlemagne
Call Number: Ref. D114 .F73 2013
2 volumes. Articles on a wide range of topics. Use guide index on p. xiii.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. D114 .O94 2010
Brief entries on all aspects of medieval life.
Handbook of Medieval Studies: Terms - Methods - Trends
Call Number: Ref. D116 .H37 2010
2 volumes. Who studies, and how to study, the medieval world.
Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Call Number: Ref. D209 .E97 2004
6 volumes. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of the First Global Age (1450 to 1750)
2016.
The Routledge History of the Renaissance
2017.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe