CSSLibraryGuides: Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection: Folklore & Mythology

The Patient Wife

"Penelope Weaving On Her Loom," from the 1505 manuscript La Vie des Femmes Celebres (Life of Famous Women) by Antoine du Four.

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Folklore and Mythology

Man, Myth & Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown
Call Number: Ref. BF1411 .M25 1983
12 volumes. Maybe not the most scholarly of works, but endlessly fascinating. A wonderful, bizarre smorgasboard of all thing's "unnatural."
Norse Mythology : A Guide to the Gods, Heroes, Rituals, and Beliefs
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
Call Number: Ref. GR35 .M43 2000
2 volumes. Scholarly articles, from animal tales to scatology. A gem.
A Dictionary of English Folklore
Call Number: Ref. GR141 .S59 2000
A great treasure trove of English folklore (and superstition). Brief articles on bull-beggars, sin-eaters, and much more.
Myth, Legend & Romance: An Encyclopedia of Irish Folk Tradition
Call Number: Ref. GR153.5 .O16 1991
Scholarly articles. Includes a pronunciation guide of Gaelic names.
Love, Sexuality, and Desire
Call Number: Ref. GR460 .C75 2013
2 volumes. Part of the series Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore. Covers selected classical & medieval myths + international coverage & feminist critiques.
An Encyclopedia of Fairies: Hobgoblins, Brownies, Bogies, and Other Supernatural Creatures
Call Number: Ref. GR549 .B74 1976b
Short articles on all those things that go bump in the night.
Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins: An Encyclopedia of Little People
Call Number: Ref. GR549 .R65 1996
More things that go bump in the night.
The Mythological Zoo: An Encyclopedia of Animals in World Myth, Legend and Literature
Call Number: Ref. GR705 .S344 2001
A bestiary of the roles our animals friends have played in myth & legend.
Encyclopedia of Christmas: Nearly 200 Alphabetically Arranged Entries Covering All Aspects of Christmas, Including Folk Customs, Religious Observances, History, Legends, Symbols, and Related Days from Europe, America, and Around the World
Call Number: Ref. GT4985 .E45 2000
The traditions which have grown up around the Christmas season, i.e. the killing of the wren on St. Stephan's Day.
Encyclopedia of Easter, Carnival, and Lent: A Guide to This Season's Joyous Celebration and Solemn Worship, Including Folk Customs, Religious Observances, History, Legends, Folklore, Symbols, and Related Days from Europe, the Americas, and Around the Worl
Call Number: Ref. GT4935 .G85 2002
The traditions of the Easter season.
The Routledge History of Medieval Magic
2019.
Eye of Newt and Toe of Frog, Adder's Fork and Lizard's Leg: The Lore and Mythology of Reptiles and Amphibians
Call Number: Ref. QL644 .C73 2015
Not a traditional encyclopedia, but lots of fun information & history about our slithering cousins.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe