Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Last Judgement
Last Judgement - xylograph [book made from a woodblock print] - 15th century.
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
Call Number: Ref. BL245 .H57 2000
Scholarly articles with bibliographies on the convergence of science, philosophy, and religion.
Encyclopedia of Monasticism
Call Number: Ref. BL631 .E53x 2000
2 volumes. Scholarly articles with bibliographies on all aspects of monastic life, in both Western & Eastern religions.
Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Call Number: Ref. BR66.5 .D5813 1991
2 volumes. Scholarly articles about the Christian Church from its inception to approximately 750 A.D.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. BR162.2 .E53 1997
2 volumes. Coverage from the time of Christ to the 7th century A.D. Brief, scholarly articles with bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: Ref. BR302.8 .O93 1996
4 volumes. Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity
Call Number: Ref. BX100.7 .B53 2000
Covers the major & minor churches of Eastern Christianity.
The Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .C25
16 volumes. The 1911 edition of this "universal" encyclopedia of the history of the Catholic Church. Because it was published before 1923, the copyright has lapsed, therefore Catholic Encyclopedia is available online.
New Catholic Encyclopedia 19 volumes + Jubilee Volume
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .N44 1967
19 volumes + Jubilee Volume. The 1967 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.
The Papacy: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. BX955.2 .D53 2002
3 volumes. Scholarly articles. Originally published in France.
Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy
Call Number: Ref. BX955.2 .E53 1999
Brief articles with bibliographies, both about the popes & the institution of the papacy.
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Call Number: Ref. BX955.2 .K45 1986
Brief biographical entries.
The Great Popes Throughout History: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. BX955.3 .G74 2002
2 volumes. In particular, see Volume 1. Short biographies of selected popes, with bibliographies.
The Deaths of the Popes: Comprehensive Accounts, Including Funerals, Burial Places, and Epitaphs
Call Number: Ref. BX958.T7 R43 2004
Papal trivia for the scholar.
Butler's Lives of the Saints
Call Number: Ref. BX4654 .B8 1956
4 volumes. The standard work on the lives of Catholic saints. Arranged by feast day. Use index in volume 4 to locate the month & day of the feast of the saint. There is often more than one saint with the same name.
Papal Genealogy: The Families and Descendants of the Popes
Call Number: Ref. CS39 .P64
Family histories & trees of the popes. Shows their relationship to the great families of Europe.
Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DS36.85 .M434 2006
2 volumes. Scholarly articles on Islam's influence in shaping the medieval world.
Call Number: Ref. DS102.8 .E496
16 volumes. A classic work that covers Jewish religion & culture from antiquity to the 20th century.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DS124 .M386 2003
Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Ref. NX440 .A787 2005
5 volumes. Vol. 4 & 5 of this set focus on Europe from 814 A.D. - 1600 A.D. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.
Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.