Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Doctor Is In
"Caring for an Invalid," 15th century German manuscript translation of the Fables of Bidpai (12th century Persian collection of tales).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Science & Medicine
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
Call Number: Ref. BL245 .H57 2000
Scholarly articles with bibliographies on the convergence of science, philosophy, and religion.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: The Greek Tradition and Its Many Heirs
Call Number: Ref. Q124.95 .E53 2008
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. Q124.97 .M43 2005
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to Newton
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .E53 2000
Scholarly articles on the great ferment of European thinking from 1462 - 1715 A.D.
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. Q184.5 .I57 1998
Short, scholarly articles with bibliographies.
History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. QB15 .H624 1997
World wide cover- age, from ancient times to the present.
Encyclopedia of Cosmology
Call Number: Ref. QB980.5 .E53 1993
Scholarly articles on the theories of the creation of the universe, from ancient times to the modern world.
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures
Call Number: Ref. QC94 .C295 2003
Features a section on ancient and obsolete systems of measurement.
Alchemy: An Illustrated A to Z
Call Number: Ref. QD23.5 .F47 1998
Brief descriptions of terms & names. No bibliographies.
Health and Wellness in Antiquity through the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. R135 .Y67 2012
Health and Wellness in the Renaissance and Enlightenment
Call Number: Ref. RA776.5 .B97 2013
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Call Number: Ref. R131 .C233 1993
World-wide coverage from ancient times to the present - by country and by disease. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: From Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ref. RA649 .E53 2001
Brief articles. Appendixes include chronology of world plagues, and plagues by country.
Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine
Call Number: Ref. R733 .H376 2004
Encyclopedia of the Black Death
Call Number: Ref. RC172 .B98 2012
All things Black Death. Great topical index at the beginning of the book
Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.