Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book of Hours
Saint Christopher [carries the Christ Child] - late 15th century Book of Hours.
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Art & Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art & Architecture
Call Number: Ref. N5965 .C76 2012
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
Call Number: Ref. N5610 .G76 2007
2 volumes. Basis of Medieval & Renaissance art
Buildings and Landmarks of Medieval Europe
Call Number: Ref. NA350 .T74 2017
The Visual Dictionary of Buildings
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .V57 1992
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300 - 1900s
Call Number: Ref. BL721 .R45 1993
A guide to identify art works that portray mythological scenes. Arranged by mythological subject, then artists and their works are listed chronologically within the subject.
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .D5 1996
34 volumes. Massive, scholarly work on the history of art & architecture. World-wide coverage, all time periods
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, 3rd edition
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .B83 2012
A fun guide for anyone who likes to look at buildings. All time periods.
Illustrated Dictionary of Art & Architecture
Artists of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref. N5975 .R684 2002
Chapter-length descriptions of various artists & artistic disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
Call Number: Ref. N7560 .E53 1998
2 volumes. The encyclopedia describes how themes (i.e. drunkenness, peasants, widows, etc.) have been portrayed in art over time.
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art
Call Number: Ref. N7793 .W65 A66 1996
Brief articles on symbolism, mythology, saints, people, & other miscellanea related to women in art.
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
Call Number: Ref. N7830 .F37
A guide to the symbolism of Christian medieval art.
The Lion Companion to Christian Art Coverage to the modern day, but most of the work focuses on the medieval & Renaissance period - Ref. N7830 .L49 2008
Call Number: The Lion Companion to Christian Art
Coverage to the modern day, but most of the work focuses on the medieval & Renaissance period.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Ref. NX440 .A787 2005
5 volumes. Vol. 4 & 5 of this set focus on Europe from 814 A.D. - 1600 A.D. Scholarly articles with bibliographies.
Medieval Iconography: A Research Guide
Call Number: Ref. NX449 .F74x 1998
Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.