CSSLibraryGuides: Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection: Countries/Areas

Jerusalem

"Map of Jerusalem," from the Chronicles of the Crusades by Robert le Moine de Reims, French abbot of St. Remy, who was present at the conquest of Jerusalem in 1099.

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Countries/Areas

Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. D70 .C45x 2006
5 volumes. Celtic culture, from pre-history to the present.
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. - A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
Call Number: Ref. D62 .A52 2004
2 volumes.
Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA129 .M43 1998
Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
Early Peoples of Britain and Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA135 .E27 2008
2 volumes. Scholarly articles. Coverage includes Viking age.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DA152 .B58 2014
One volume encyclopedia edited by one of the pre-eminent Anglo-Saxon scholars.
Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485.
2002.
Encyclopedia of Tudor England
2 volumes. Brief articles with bibliographies.
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World: Britain, Ireland, Europe, and Americas
Call Number: Ref. DA357 .W34 1999
The world “touched” by Britain, 1558 – 1603.
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DA933 .M43 2005
Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DC33.2 .M44 1995
Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
The Holy Roman Empire: A Dictionary Handbook
Call Number: Ref. DD84 .Z66
The empire of Charlemagne, from 843 – 1810 A.D.
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Call Number: Ref. DF521 .O93 1991
3 volumes. Scholarly work on the "other" Roman empire.
The Cambridge History of the Byzantine Empire c. 500-1492
Call Number: Ref. DF571 .C34
Chapter long topical articles.
Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia
2 volumes. Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DL30 .M43 1993
Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of primary & secondary sources.
Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DP99 .M33 2003
Present day Spain & Portugal, from approximately 400 - 1500 A.D. Scholarly work featuring short articles with bibliographies of secondary sources.
The Holy Roman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DD125.L67 2019
2 volumes.
The Byzantine Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DF504.5 .B98 2019
2 volumes.
The Ottoman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. DR485 .K54 2017
2 volumes.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe