Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Help for MLA, 9th Edition: Encyclopedia

No Known Author

When there is no author given, use the first one, two, or three words from the title of the work, but don't include the initial articles (A, An, or The).

If the title is in Italics in the Works Cited list, italicize it in your parenthetical notation - (Long Story 44)

If the title is in quotation marks in the Works Cited list, keep the quotation marks - ("Short Story" 44)

Multiple authors?

For Two Authors

Example:
McGill, Ivan, and John Kurt Glenn. The Action Learning Handbook: Powerful Techniques for Education. Rutledge Falmer, 2021.

Explanation:
List the first author's last name followed by their first and middle names. Place an "and" between the names. The second author is listed first name followed by the last name.

For More Than Two Authors

Example:
Nelson, Karl, et al. Fish Is for Everyone. Penguin Press, 2020. 

Explanation:
If there are more than three authors, just list the first one followed by et al., which is Latin for and others. There is a period after al but not et.

Example

Jones, Malcom. "Vampires." Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends,

     Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,

     4th ed., vol. 3, ABC-CLIO, 2021.

Or from an online database like CREDO from the Library:

Jones, Malcom. "Vampires." Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends,

     Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,

     4th ed., vol. 3, ABC-CLIO, 2021. Credo Reference. https://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://

     search.credoreference.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=AN=116756626&site=eds-live

     &scope=site.

Explanation

Author of the article: Jones, Malcom.
Last name of the author, then the complete spelling of the first and middle names. Avoid initials, if possible.If your article does not list an author, begin with the title of the article. End with a period.

Title & subtitle of the article: "Vampires."
The title & subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle, and all proper nouns and important words. Place article title & subtitle in quotations and end with a period.

Title & subtitle of the encyclopedia: Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs.
The title & subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle, and all proper nouns and important words. Italicize encyclopedia title & subtitle and end with a period

Editor or editors of the encyclopedia: edited by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow,
Editor or editors are indicated by the words edited by preceding their name or names. The name is presented with the first name followed by the last (this is the reverse of the traditional MLA form). End with a comma.

Edition of the encyclopedia: 4th ed.,
If the encyclopedia is a 2nd edition, 3rd, etc., give the edition number followed by the abbreviation ed. and end with a comma.

Volume number: vol. 3,
If the encyclopedia has more than one volume, give the volume number you used for this entry. Precede the number by the abbreviation vol. and then the number followed by a comma.

Publisher: ABC-CLIO,
Place a comma after the publisher's name to separate it from the year of publication. Place of publication is optional and if included would precede the publisher separated by a comma.

Year of publication: 2021.
List the year of publication which appears on the title page or the title page verso (back side of title page). End citation with a period.

If you got the full-text from an online database like Credo from the Library, continue your citation with:

Database: Credo Reference.
Include the name of the database you used to find the full-text of the article. Put in Italics and end with a period

Website Address:  https://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=116756626&site=eds-live&scope=site. 

Give website of the database and followed with a period to end the citation.

Editors?

Example:
Gibbs, Janet Trist. Children of Hope: Psychological Interventions, edited by John C. Cowl, Jossey-Bass, 2020.

Explanation:
After the title, place a comma and then the words edited by before the editor's name, which will be listed with the first name and then the last name including a middle name or initial if given. Put a comma after the editor's name and before the publisher.

Note:
If there is no author and only an editor, then start the citation with the editor's name followed by a comma and the word editor.
Cowl, John C., editor. Children of Hope: Psychological Interventions. Jossey-Bass, 2020.

Edition?

Example:
Smith, Susan. Clinical Skills: Basic to Advanced Skills. 9th ed., Pearson Prentice Hall, 2022.

Explanation:
Place the edition number after the book title. Follow by ed., and then the publisher.