Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Help for MLA, 9th Edition: eBook

Multiple Authors?

Example:
McGill, Ivan, John Kurt Glenn, and Alice 
Brockbank. The Action Learning Handbook: Powerful Techniques for Education. Rutledge Falmer, 2014.

Explanation:
List the first author last name first followed by the first and middle names followed by a comma. All other authors are listed first name followed by the last name. Insert the word "and" and a comma before the last author.

Note: If there are more than three authors, just list the first one followed by et al., which is Latin for and others. There is a period after al but not et. Example: Nelson, Karl, et al. Fish Is for Everyone. Penguin Press, 2016. 

Editors?

Example:
Gibbs, Janet Trist. Children of Color: Psychological Interventions With Minority Youth. Edited by John C. Cowl, Jossey-Bass, 2015.

Explanation:
Place the words Edited by before the editor's name. Put a comma after the editor's name.

Edition?

Example:
Smith, Susan. Clinical Skills: Basic to Advanced Skills. 7th ed., Pearson Prentice Hall, 2015.

Explanation:
Place the edition number after the book title. Follow by ed.,

Example

From the Library's databases:

Cohen, Daniel. Our Modern Times: The New Nature of Capitalism in the Information Age

     MIT Press, 2023. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

From a website:

Cohen, Daniel. Our Modern Times: The New Nature of Capitalism in the Information Age

     MIT Press, 2023. Oxford Scholarship Online, https://academic.oup.com/pages/oxford-library-of-psychology.

Explanation

Author: Cohen, Daniel.
Last name, then first and middle. Avoid initials, if possible. End with a period. 

Title & subtitle of the book: Our Modern Times: The New Nature of Capitalism in the Information Age.
The title & subtitle are separated by a colon. Capitalize the first and last words of the title and subtitle, and all proper nouns and important words. Italicize the title & subtitle and end with a period. 

Publisher: MIT Press,
Give the publisher for the book. 

Date of publication: 2023.
Year the book was published, end with a period.

From the Library's databases:
Database: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
The name of the database or eBook collection you located the book in. Italicize and end citation with a period.

From a website: 
Name of website: Oxford Scholarship Online,
Give the name of the site in italics followed by a comma.

Address of website: https://academic.oup.com/pages/oxford-library-of-psychology.
Give the address or URL of the site and end citation with a period.