This is the "Welcome" page of the "Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.css.edu/MedRenReference Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Anchor & Dolphin

Anchor & Dolphin

Press mark of the Aldine Press, the great 15th century Venetian printing house of Aldus Manutius.

Find more prints at Art Museum Image Gallery.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection.

 

Welcome

Please use the above tabs for a list reference works available in the CSS Library. The articles appearing in these encyclopedias are written & edited by scholars. Depending on the individual work, articles may range from a paragraph in length, to a page, to several pages, and in some cases (such as the Dictionary of Art) several hundred. Encyclopedias serve a valuable place in the information environment - they give you an overview of your of your topic, and define key terms, ideas, & thinkers. And trust me. Your professor will be quite impressed if you quote The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England as opposed to Wikipedia.

Most articles will have a bibliography for you to use as a reference for further resources. This is a great way to expand your resources quickly. If we don't own or have access to the materials listed, we can borrow them for you through InterLibrary Loan. Also, if you look up the book in a library catalog, or an article in one of our databases, they should contain links to related articles which will further expand your options.

Reference books are located on the first floor of the CSS Library and may not be checked out of the library. Photocopy machines are available on the first & second floors of the library (10 cents/page). Over the last few years the Library has been developing an e-reference collection, and links are provided if a work is available in electronic form.

Medieval & Renaissance Resources in the CSS Reference Collection is part of the larger Medieval & Renaissance Studies Guide.

Please use my contact information in the right hand column if you have questions.

Todd White
Reference Librarian

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Todd White
Contact Info
Office: Library 1060
Office phone: 723-6473
Send Email
Top five books are:
Lord of the Rings, Of Human Bondage, Rodale's All-New Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening, The Marriage of Cadmus & Harmony, Men Against the Sea
Best current read:
The Club Dumas, by Perez Reverte
Best dog breed:
Australian Shepherd
Current favorite quote:
Omnes vulnerant. Postuma necat [They all wound. The last one kills].
Current favorite food:
Slab bacon. Like a good quarterback, it elevates the play of all the food cooked with it.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip