Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bump in the Night
Gnome Hiding Under the Bed, by Rudolf Bacher (c. 1888).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Folklore in the 18th Century
Man, Myth & Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown
Call Number: Ref. BF1411 .M25 1983
12 volumes. Maybe not the most scholarly of works, but endlessly fascinating. A wonderful, bizarre smorgasboard of all thing's "unnatural."
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art
Call Number: Ref GR35 .F63 1997
While not focusing on a particular time period or culture, the scholarly articles in this encyclopedia discuss folk beliefs which may be read of in the literature of the 18th century.
A Dictionary of English Folklore
Call Number: Ref. GR141 .S59 2000
A great treasure trove of English folklore (and superstition). Brief articles on bull-beggars, sin-eaters, and much more.
Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins: An Encyclopedia of Little People
Call Number: Ref. GR549 .R65 1996
More things that go bump in the night.
Encyclopedia of Fairies in World Folklore and Mythology
Call Number: Ref. BF1552 .B27 2013
Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.