CSSLibraryGuides: The World of the Eighteenth Century (for English Majors): Science

The Experiment

Jean Antoine Nollet [French monk & experimental scientist], (18th century engraving).

Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.

Science in the 18th Century

The Origins of Modern Science: From Antiquity to the Scientific Revolution
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .G28 2021
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to Newton
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .E53 2000
Scholarly articles on the great ferment of European thinking from 1462 - 1715 A.D.
History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .H6298 2002
4 volumes. Large topical articles are arranged chronologically.
Concise History of Science & Invention: An Illustrated Timeline
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .C576
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
Call Number: Ref. BL245 .H57 2000
Topical articles discuss the development of ideas over the centuries.
Women, Science, and Myth: Gender Beliefs from Antiquity to the Present
Call Number: Ref. HQ1075 .W675 2008
There is an extended article on the 18th century.
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories
Call Number: Ref. Q121 .K74 2008
2 volumes. Great explanations arranged by the scientist's name. So, you need to know which 18th century scientist you want to know more about before this books becomes useful.
Chronology of Science: From Stonehenge to the Human Genome Project
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .C482 2002
The Timetables of Science: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in the History of Science ...
Call Number: Ref. Q125 .H557 1991
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref. Q141 .D5
18 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Cosmology
Call Number: Ref. QB980.5 .E53 1993
Scholarly articles on the theories of the creation of the universe, from ancient times to the modern world.
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Call Number: Ref. QC854 .E523 1996
2 volumes. Volume 2 offers chronologies of natural disasters & of discoveries related to weather.
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures
Call Number: Ref. QC94 .C295 2003
Features a section on ancient and obsolete systems of measurement.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.

Reference Universe