Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catherine the Great
Empress Catherine the Great, by F.S. Rotokov (1770).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
18th Century Biographical Works
Women Who Ruled
Call Number: Ref. D107 .J33 1990
Index at the beginning of the books provides list of rulers by century.
Kings, Rulers, & Statesmen
Call Number: Ref. D107 .W5 1976
Does not provide biographical information, but does provide chronological list of rulers for each country.
Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: Ref. DA28 .D45 1921x
24 volumes + supplement. Generally, you have to be English, male, and dead to make it into this classic reference work.
Napoleon: A Biographical Companion
Call Number: Ref. DC203 .N53 1999
American National Biogaphy
Call Number: Ref. E176 .A68 1999
24 volumes + supplements. Remake of the Dictionary of American Biography, this time with inclusive entries for women & minorities.
Dictionary of American Biography
Call Number: Ref. E176 .D56
20 volumes + supplements. The American equivalent of the Dictionary of National Biography [see above].
Women Patriots of the American Revolution: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. E276 .C5 1991
British Authors Before 1800: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PR105 .K9
American Authors 1600-1900: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref. PS21 .K8
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref. Q141 .D5
Dictionary of Medical Biography
Call Number: Ref. R134 .D57 2007
Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.