Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Morning Chocolate, by Pietro Longhi (1702-85).
Image from Art Museum Image Gallery.
Daily Life in the 18th Century
Daily Life in 18th Century England, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. DA485 .O47 2017
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .G7553 2009
Advances and Innovations in American Daily Life, 1600-1930s
Call Number: Ref. E161 .G76 2002
What American Women Did, 1789-1920
Call Number: Ref. HQ1154 .C665 2001
Year-by-year chronicle of women's live in the United States.
Sports and Games of the 18th and 19th Centuries
Call Number: Ref. GV576 .C74 2003
Sports in America: From Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century
Call Number: Ref. GV583 .S68588 2011
3 volumes. First volume has overview of American sports by century. You then would need to look at articles on individual sports for more historical detail.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship, and Sexuality Through History
Call Number: Ref. HQ21 .G67125 2008
6 volumes. See Vols. 3 and 4.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body
Call Number: Ref. HM636 .C85 2008
2 volumes. This is one of those odd/weird/delightful works full of articles you can't really imagine someone being a scholar of. Includes a body "chronology" and history of body culture over the centuries.
Chronology of Women's History
Call Number: Ref. HQ1121 .O47 1994
Subject categories are broken down by year.
A Cultural History of Women
Call Number: Ref. HQ1121 .C85x 2013
6 volumes. See Volume 4 - In the Age of Enlightenment.
A Day in the Working Life: 300 Trades and Professions Through History
Call Number: Ref. GT5910 .W47 2015
A Dictionary of English Weights and Measures from Anglo-Saxon Times to the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: Ref. QC82 .Z8 1968
Helping you make sense out of the near-senseless.
Statistical Works on the 18th Century
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1500-2000
Call Number: Ref. D214 .C54 2001
This work attempts to estimate the civilian and military casualties in every armed conflict since 1500.
Colonial America to 1763
Call Number: Ref. E178 .A45x 1995 vol. 1
Part of the Almanacs American Life Series.
Revolutionary America, 1763-1800
Call Number: Call Number: Ref. E178 .A45x 1995 vol. 2
Part of the Almanacs American Life Series. A great sources for historical statistics.
Black Demographic Data: 1790-1860: A Sourcebook
Call Number: Ref. E185.18 .C73 1997
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970
Call Number: Ref. HA202 .B87 1975
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750 - 2000
Call Number: Ref. HA1107 .M5 2003
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania, 1750 - 2000
Call Number: Ref. HA4675.M552 2003
Working Americans, 1779-1869: From the Revolutionary War to the Civil War
Call Number: Ref. HD8066 .D47 2000
Snippets and statistics on American life.
Reference Universe searches the table of contents & indexes of recent print and electronic encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection.