Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HON 4885/HIS 3305 - The Holocaust in Comparative Perspective: Selected Reference Books

Use this guide for finding CSS Library resources for HON 4885/HIS 3305 - The Holocaust in Comparative Perspective.

Adolf Hitler

German Chancellor Adolf Hitler receives the ovation of the Reichstag in Berlin in March 1938 after announcing the “peaceful” acquisition of Austria.


"German Chancellor Adolf Hitler receives the ovation of the Reichstag in Berlin in March 1938 after announcing the “peaceful” acquisition of Austria." Image from Credo Reference.

Getting started with encyclopedias


 

Selected Reference Books

Why Encyclopedias?

Admit it. You've used Wikipedia. Not that there's anything wrong with that! Hey, you probably used it because you found it useful. The speciality encyclopedias that the library offers can be just as useful when you set out on a scholarly activity like  this Honors class. Encyclopedias offer ...

  • articles written by scholars, with the assistance of professional editors
  • overview and background not found in journal articles, and with the brevity not offered by full length monographs (or,like most of us say, books)
  • an organized approach to a topic, connecting different aspects together with thematic entries or cross-references, allowing you to see the whole picture, and also to narrow down your research topic if it is too broad
  • enough of what you need. If, in your 30 page paper, you want to devote one page to the concept of evil in the world, then the 6 page article on "Evil" from the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas might be all you need
  • article level bibliographies that you can use to easily expand your research

Please take advantage of the great step up on your research you can get by starting off with a specialized encyclopedia. But, everything comes with a cost, as you should know. A large part of our collection is in print. You will have to visit the library, which, from most places on campus, is less than one lap around the Wellness Center track.