Dance
Advertising & Marketing
Anthropology
Ancient HistoryArchaeologyCountriesMedieval & Renaissance HistoryMilitary & NavalPeoples & CulturesThe Americas, History
Folklore
MythologyOccult
Aesthetics
EnvironmentGeography
AdolescenceAgingChildhoodDeathMarriage

Admin Sign In 

Subject Encyclopedias in the CSS Reference Collection 

This guide provides you with a list of subject encyclopedias, both print and electronic, that are available through the CSS Library.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.css.edu/SubjectEncyclopedias  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Overview             Print Page
  
 

Reference Universe

Reference Universe searches the table of contents and indexes of recent print and electronic works in the CSS Reference Collection (those works published in the last 10 to 15 years). It is possible in some cases to browse the table of contents of an encyclopedia in this list by using Reference Universe.

a. Use the link above to access Reference Universe.

b.  Copy and paste a title from this list into the search box of Reference Universe and click on search.

c.  From the title information in your search results, click on "About this work."

d.  Click on either "view articles titles for this work" or "view index from this work."

 

Citing encyclopedias

Use the CSS Library's citation guides to cite a subject encyclo- pedia article in either MLA or APA format.

 
 

Introduction

This guide provides you with a list of subject encyclopedias, both print and electronic, that are available through the CSS Library.

For the purpose of this list, a subject encyclopedia is defined as:

a).  having articles written by a scholar or other authority on a topic.

b).  having articles that range from 1/2/ page, to 5, 10, and in some cases, hundreds of pages (such as the Dictionary of Art).

c).  having articles with a bibliography of other, authoritative sources on a topic.

Print encyclopedias are located on the first floor of the CSS Library. As with all reference book, they may not be checked out of the Library. Photocopiers are available on the first and second floors of the Library. Cost for copying is 10 cents/page.

Electronic encyclopedias are directly linked from this list to the full-text of the encyclopedia. In order to access the contents, you will need to verify you are a CSS student by logging on to the system using your Novell login.

 

Distance students & the print collection

CSS students studying from a distance can still take advantage of the quality information in the CSS Library's print Reference Collection. Use Reference Universe (see information in left-hand column) to locate an article or articles of interest to you. Then request the articles be sent to you through the Library's Rover Service.

 

My Profile

Profile ImageTodd White
Contact Info:
Office: Library 1060
Office phone: 723-6473
Send Email

Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Reference Collection, Literature

Top five books are:
Lord of the Rings, Of Human Bondage, Rodale's All-New Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening, The Marriage of Cadmus & Harmony, Men Against the Sea

Best current read:
Where Men Win Glory: The Odyssey of Pat Tillman

Best dog breed:
Australian Shepherd

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait