CSSLibraryGuides: Subject Encyclopedias @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: ARTS

Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .D5 1996
34 volumes.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .E533 [1964]
16 volumes.
Art in the Modern Era: A Guide to Styles, Schools, and Movements
Call Number: Ref. N6490 .D415 2002
Styles, Schools and Movements: An Essential Encyclopaedic Guide to Modern Art
Call Number: Ref. N6490.4 .D45 2010
Dictionary of Artists
Call Number: Ref. N40 .B4713 2006
14 volumes.
Dictionary of Women Artists
Call Number: Ref. N8354 .D53 1997
2 volumes.
Asian Woman Artists: A Biographical Dictionary, 2700 BCE to Today
Call Number: Ref. NX164.W65 S63 2022
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
2004.
Artists of the American Mosaic: Encyclopedia of African American Artists
2009.
Artists of the American Mosaic: Encyclopedia of Arab American Artists
2008.
Artists of the American Mosaic: Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists
2007.
Artists of the American Mosaic: Encyclopedia of Jewish American Artists
2006.
Artists of the American Mosaic: Encyclopedia of Native American Artists
2008.
A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latina/o Art
2021.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Ref. NX440 .A787 2005
5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Call Number: Ref. NX452.5 .R64 E53 2004
2 volumes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts
Call Number: Ref. BS538.7 .O94 2015
2 volumes.
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology
Call Number: Ref. N7832 .E335 2017
3 volumes.
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes, 3rd edition
2019.
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement
Call Number: Ref. NX512.3 .A35 E525 2019
2019.
Botticelli: Artist and Designer
2021.
Henri Matisse: A concise, critical biography of the innovative French artist Henri Matisse.
2021.
Milestone Visual Documents in American History: The Images, Cartoons, and Other Visual Sources that Shaped America
2023.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Call Number: Ref. N8510 .G76 2008
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Call Number: Ref. NK28 .G76 2006
2 volumes.
American Folk Art: A Regional Reference
Call Number: Ref. NK805 .C655 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Folk Art
Call Number: Ref. NK805 .E6 2004
Needlework Through History: An Encyclopedia
2007.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
Call Number: Ref. N5610 .G76 2007
2 volumes.
Art and Architecture of the World's Religions
Call Number: Ref. N7790 .R67 2009
2 volumes.
The Oxford Companion to Architecture
Call Number: Ref. NA31 .O94 2009
2 volumes.
Buildings and Landmarks of Medieval Europe
Call Number: Ref. NA350 .T74 2017
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through American History
Call Number: Ref. NA7205 .G745 2008
4 volumes.
Chinese Architecture: A History
2019.
Australia: Modern Architectures in History
2019.

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Call Number: Ref. TR9 .H25 2008
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Photography
Call Number: Ref. TR9 .I24 1984
A World History of Women Photographers
Call Number: Ref. TR139 .H5713 2022
2022.

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Call Number: Ref. GV1585 .I586 1998
6 volumes.
Encyclopedia of World Ballet
Call Number: Ref. GV1585 .S66 2015
The Routledge Dance Studies Reader
2019.
International Dictionary of Ballet
Call Number: Ref. GV1585 .I57 1997
2 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance
Call Number: Ref. GV1743 .S68 2016
Social Dancing in America: A History and Reference
Call Number: Ref. GV1623 .G56 2007
2 volumes.
A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
2015.

Drama for Students
Series, 1998-2017.
Cultural History of Theatre
Call Number: Ref. PN2101 .85 2017
6 volumes. Antiquity - Middle Ages - Early Modern - Enlightenment - Age of Empire - Modern Age.
The Basics: World Theatre
2017.
A Guide to Ancient Greek Drama, 2nd edition
2014.
Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy
Call Number: Ref. PA3133 .E53 2014
3 volumes.
Medieval Drama: Critical Concepts in Literary and Cultural Studies
Call Number: Ref. PN1751 .M44 2007
4 volumes. Chapter-length scholarly essays.
Western Drama Throughout the Ages: A Student Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref. PN1721 .W47 2007
2 volumes.
Historical Dictionary of British Theatre: Early Period
Call Number: Ref. PN2581 .G73 2013
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Call Number: Ref. PN 1861 .C65 2007
2 volumes.
A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
2015.
Twenty-First Century Drama
2 volumes. 2012.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
Call Number: Ref. PN2035 .O94 2003
2 volumes.
Broadway: An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture
Call Number: Ref. PN2277.N5 B62 2010
2 volumes.
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Theatre, 2nd edtion
Call Number: Ref. PN2921 .L45 2014
Blood on the Stage, 480 B.C. to 1600 A.D.: Milestone Plays of Murder, Mystery and Mayhem
Call Number: Ref. PN1952 .K335 2014
Blood on the State, 1600 to 1800: Milestone Plays of Murder, Mystery, and Mayhem
Call Number: Ref. PN1952 .K3355 2017
Blood on the Stage, 1800 - 1900: Milestone Plays of Murder, Mystery, and Mayhem
Call Number: Ref. PN1952 .K3356 2017
Blood on the Stage, 1925-1950: Milestone Plays of Crime, Mystery, and Detection
Call Number: Ref. PN1952 .K34 2010
Banned Plays: Censorship Histories of 125 Stage Dramas
Call Number: Ref. PN2042 .S68 2004

Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America
Call Number: Ref. E181 .E6313 2011
2 volumes.
Les Brown's Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: Ref. PN1992.18 .B7 1992x
Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: Ref. PN1992.18 .M874 1997
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. PN1992.18 .E53 2004
4 volumes.
A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
2015.

The Emergence of Cinema: The American Cinema to 1907.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 1
History of the American Cinema: Volume 1.
The Transformation of Cinema, 1907-1915.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 2
History of the American Cinema: Volume 2.
An Evening's Entertainment: The Age of the Silent Feature Picture, 1915 - 1928.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 3
History of the American Cinema: Volume 3.
The Talkies: American Cinema's Transition to Sound, 1926-1931.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 4
History of the American Cinema: Volume 4.
Grand Design: Hollywood and a Modern Business Enterprise, 1930 - 1939.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 5
History of the American: Volume 5.
Boom and Bust: The American Cinema in the 1940's.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 6
History of the American Cinema: Volume 6.
Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 7
History of the American Cinema: Volume 7.
The Sixties: 1960 - 1969.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 8
History of the American Cinema: Volume 8.
Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970 - 1979.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 9
History of the American Cinema: Volume 9.
A New Pot of Gold: Hollywood Under the Electronic Rainbow, 1980 - 1989.
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 H577 vol. 10
History of the American Cinema: Volume 10.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films
Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .R6857 2015
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.4 .G65 2007
4 volumes.
The Routledge Companion to Film History
Call Number: Ref. PN1994 .R5735 2011
Blackwell Companions in Cultural Studies: A Companion to Film Theory
2004.
The SAGE Handbook of Film Studies
2008.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers, 4th edition
4 volumes.
Fifty Hollywood Directors
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U65 F655 2015
The Tim Burton Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. PN1998.3.B875 U45 2015
The Coen Brothers Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. PN1998.3.C6635 K57 2014
The Francis Ford Coppola Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. PN1998.3 .C67 W55 2010
Wiley-Blackwell Companions to Film Directors: A Companion to Jean-Luc Godard
2014.
Wiley-Blackwell Companions to Film Directors: A Companion to Werner Herzog
2011.
Stanley Kubrick
Call Number: Ref. PN1998.3.K83 S73 2016
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.45 .E53 2005
Forbidden Films: Censorship Histories of 125 Motion Pictures
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.62 .S67 2001
The Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
2013.
Inspired by True Events: An Illustrated Guide to More than 500 History-Based Films
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9.H5 N54 2013
Movies in American History: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. PN1993.5.U6 M685 2011
3 volumes.
The Columbia Companion to America History on Film
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9 2003
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
Call Number: Ref. PN1997.85 .T54 1998
Encyclopedia of Film Noir
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9 .F54 2007
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
1998.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Film
2011.
The Encyclopedia of Epic Films
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9.E79 S25 2014
Encyclopedia of the Zombie: The Walking Dead in Popular Culture and Myth
Call Number: Ref. GR581 .E53 2014
The Encyclopedia of Film Composers
Call Number: Ref. ML102.M68 H572 2015
Musicals in Film: A Guide to the Genre
2017.
The American Musical Song Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. ML102.M68 H57 1999
The World of Musicals: An Encyclopedia of Stage, Screen, and Song
2014.
Film It With Music: An Encyclpedic Guide to the American Movie Musical
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001
Books to Film: Cinematic Adaptations of Literary Works
2018.
The Anime Encyclopedia, 3rd Revised Edition : A Century of Japanese Animation
2015.
The Encyclopedia of British Film . fourth edition
2013.
Race in American Film: Voices and Visions that Shaped America
Call Number: Ref. PN1995.9.N4 R33 2017
3 volumes. 2017.
A to Z of Women: American Women in the Performing Arts
2015.