Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Reference Materials
Search the CSS Library's Reference collection for your topic by using Reference Universe. This database will direct you to articles within the encyclopedias and other reference sources in the print collection at CSS, as well as reference works within our electronic reference collections.
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.
General Electronic Encyclopedias
Electronic Encyclopedia Collections
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 2,600 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
Sage Reference Collection
Scholarly encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Encyclopedias in literature, history, & science.
Note: Once you click on the title of the databases, you will be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access my.CSS, your CSS email, and Brightspace courses.
Search for Articles
Image in the Public Domain
Looking for scholarly articles? The CSS Library has several databases available to assist you with your research.
Academic Search Premier
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
Gale Academic OneFile
Coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
Other Specialized Databases
Premier database for psychology. Includes indexing of journals, books, & dissertations.
Applied Science & Technology
Journals and conference proceedings in the applied sciences and computing.
Business Source Ultimate
Broadest coverage for business. Includes academic journals, trade publications, & company information.
(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health). Comprehensive coverage of the nursing literature.
Gale Health and Wellness
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Gale in Context: Middle School
Covers 250 full-text periodicals + ebooks, images, & animations. Wide range of topics. Middle school & up.
Gale OneFile: High School
Full-text magazines, newspapers, & reference books. High school.
Online tutorial to help you learn the basics of conversation in a foreign language. Mango features over 60 languages from which to choose.
The premier medical database.
Science Reference Center
Full-text content of nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. + 250,000 science related images.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
Best sociology-specific database. Includes, journals, books, & conference papers.
Access World News
Over 6,00 full-text, English language news sources from the United States and around the world.
Over 50 current newspapers from around the state.
Landing page for various newspaper collections provided by Readex. National & international coverage. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswire sources, and historical collections.
Search for Books
Image in the Public Domain
Looking for a book to support your research? Try searching the CSS catalog, ScholastiCAT!
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
Step-by-step instructions for searching ScholastiCAT.
Other Academic Library Catalogs
Can't find what you are looking for in the CSS Library? Try searching the following library catalogs:
NOTE: Anything you find in these other catalogs can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Search for books at other MN private colleges.
Search for books in the major academic & public libraries of the United States and thirteen other countries.
Below are the major sources of ebooks offered by the Library.
NOTE: You will need to login to this catalog using your network username and password, which is the same username and password you use to access my.CSS, your CSS email, or Brightspace courses.
Business Expert Press
This collection includes over 300 current eBooks in management. We have rights for multiple users so they may be used in Blackboard or on course pages.
Academic eBook Collection
211,193 current academic titles.
Ebsco eBook Collection
Search the CSS Library's ebook collection. Includes the content of Ebsco's Academic ebook Collection.
R2 Digital Library
Growing collection of eBooks for the health sciences and nursing
Image in the Public Domain
Need help with your research or using the library's resources?? There are a variety of tools available in the CSS Library to assist you with your research. Click on the link to learn more about these resources.
Narrated Library Tutorials
Other Video Tutorial Resources