Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image in the Public Domain
Locating free data can be a difficult challenge. Use these resources to find data sets for your research project available on the Internet.
NOTE: Review information carefully. Some resources may require you to be part of a designated research group or require you to pay to access the data.
National Data Sets
Image in the Public Domain
Education Data Sets
These resources allow you to review and compare data for school districts across the entire nation.
Civil Rights Data Collection
Contains "wide ranging education access and equity data collected from our nation's public schools".
Common Core of Data (CCD)
A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics. Find information about schools and school districts, descriptive data about students and staff, and fiscal data including revenues and expenditures.
Education Demographic & Geographic Estimates (EDGE)
Created by the NCES. This webpage provides a new dynamic data mapping tool that provides geographic context to NCES, Census, and other education demographic datasets.
Education Finance Statistics Center (EDFIN)
Locate finance information on public elementary/secondary education, including at the school district level
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas."
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER)
Data, reports, and other information from the Department of Education focusing on special education.
National Household Education Survey
"Collects nationally representative, descriptive data on the educational activities of children and adults in the United States." Includes survey data about homeschooling, parent involvement in schools, young children education and care before Kindergarten, adult education and training, and more.
National Teacher & Principal Survey
"A system of related questionnaires that provide descriptive data on the context of elementary and secondary education in addition to giving policymakers a variety of statistics on the condition of education in the United States."
School Survey on Crime & Safety
Primary source of school-level data on crime and safety at public elementary and secondary schools in the US.
State Education Reforms
"Compiles and disseminates data on state-level elementary and secondary education reform efforts." Data collected from organizations other than NCES.
Presents key data about each state's performance in the NAEP.
U.S. Department of Education
The website to the U.S. Department of Education.
Miscellaneous Private & National Data Sets
Created by the Federal Interagency on Child and Family Statistics, which is a collaboration of 22 federal government agencies. Their annual report "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being" looks at indicators of child well-being including education, health, etc.
Statistics on child and family well being including health, education, income, child care and more.
Home of the US government's open data
Data & Statistics about the U.S.
Find data about the U.S. Includes lists of federal agencies to locate population, demographic, economic data as well as maps and other information.
Locate free data sets from around the world. NOTE: must create a free account.
Created by Wikipedia with the goal to share millions of pieces of data for public use.
Created by Cornell University, this resource includes major statistical data sources about disability.
Immigration Data & Statistics
Created by the Department of Homeland Security, you will find data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
Kids Count Data Center
The premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States
National Center for Children in Poverty Data Tools
The data tools created and maintained by the National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP), which is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
Open Data Network
Explore government related data with some visualizations built in.
Website to share and search for data that is free to use for the social and behavioral sciences.
Our World in Data
Data and data visualizations that cover a wide range of topics and disciplines. Can easily limit to Education.
Pew Research Center
Raw data sets made available from the researchers of Pew Research. Data available on a variety of topics including Education.
US Census Bureau
Explore the Census Data
Minnesota & Local Data Sets
Image Creator: Illegitmate Barrister CC BY-SA 3.0
Education Data Sets for Minnesota
These resources allow you to review data at the state, at the district, and at the local level.
Minnesota Department of Education
Website to the Minnesota's Department of Education
MDE Data Center
Data reports and data analytics from all school districts in the state of Minnesota.
Minnesota Report Card
"This tool is designed to provide parents, educators, schools, districts and citizens with easy access to district and school information, test results, revenue and expenditure data, demographic information and other critical data in a centralized location."
The Minnesota Statewide Longitudinal Education Data System (SLEDS) that matches student data from pre-kindergarten through completion of postsecondary education and into the workforce.
Miscellaneous State Open Data Sets
International Data Sets
Image in the Public Domain
International Education Data Sets
These resources will allow you to look at data for schools around the world.