Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The CSS Reference Collection includes useful encyclopedias, statistics, handbooks, and subject dictionaries all which help you decide on a topic, narrow it, and begin researching it.
Now they are even easier to use as you can search online for them using Reference Universe or through our other online encyclopedia collections especially Credo. You can also use our SCANNX to scan the articles from books here in print and then email or print them or even zap them to your smart phone!
Since the online collections and titles are limited to the CSS population, you will need to login to these reference collections using your Novell user name and password. This is the same user name and password that is used to login to the CSS email or Brightspace.
How to Cite an Encyclopedia Article
Instructions for Electronic Encyclopedia Collections - PDFs
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.
How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form.
Encyclopedias on Computer Science & Technology
Use this database to search for reference materials from the print collection at CSS and from online reference collections.
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority of our print & electronic encyclopedia and reference collections.
Electronic Encyclopedia Collections
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
Sage Reference Collection
Scholarly encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Encyclopedias in literature, history, & science.
Links to Online Reference Works