Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Cite an Encyclopedia Article
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.
How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form.
The Reference Collection has a variety of different sources that can help you with your research project. The most common types of sources include directories, handbooks, dictionaries, almanacs, and encyclopedias. Each source has a specific function and contains different information.
What kind of information will you find in each of these sources?
- Dictionaries - use to find the correct spellings of words and their meanings.
- Directories - use to find information about organizations, their address, phone numbers, and key personnel.
- Almanacs - use to find statistics, figures, tables, and facts on specific areas or topics.
- Atlases - use to find maps and other geographical information including statistics, dates, physical features, etc.
- Handbooks - use to locate concise data on a specialized topic. Examples of data include statistics, instructions, procedures, etc.
- Encyclopedias (both specific and subject specific) - are great places to background information on your topic. Other information you will find include: important dates, authorities on your topic, bibiliographies, and key terminology.
The library maintains a collection of online reference sources which may be searched both on-campus and off-campus. When accessing these works from off-campus, you will be prompted for your CSS login, which is the same username and password you use when accessing my.CSS, Brightspace, or your CSS email.
Computer Science Encyclopedias
The library maintains a collection of online reference sources which may be searched both on-campus and off-campus. When accessing these works from off-campus, you will be prompted for your CSS login, which is the same username and password you use when accessing my.CSS, Brightspace or your CSS email.
Here are some tutorials that you may find helpful for using some of the resources on this page.
Search the CSS Library's Reference collection for your topic by using Reference Universe. This database will direct you to articles within the encyclopedias and other reference sources in the print collection at CSS, as well as reference works within our electronic reference collections.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.
Other Online Reference Works
General encyclopedias are great to provide an overview of a topic. Try searching the following electronic general encyclopedia collections.
Subject Encyclopedia Collections
Try searching these encyclopedia collections.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
Sage Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedias from a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Salem Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias in literature, history, & science.