Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Full Text
If you cannot find the full text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list. This site will search all of the CSS databases for full text and it checks to see what journals the CSS Library subscribes to.
Journals, A to Z - NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!
Instructions - Step-by-step instructions for using the A to Z list.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.
How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form.
Article Databases - Education & Computer Science
Databases for the field of Education
Applied Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Journals and conference proceedings in the applied sciences and computing.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
800 journals and periodicals, covering the complete range of fields related to technology.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Science database that includes numerous computer science topics.
Other Article Databases
Here are a variety of other databases that you may want to consider for your research:
Academic Search Premier
Great for locating computer science topics and education topics.
A large database multi-discipline database that covers topics in computer science and education.
Gale Academic OneFile
Coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Discovery database that links up several of the library resources so you can search them all at once! Think Google, but only for Library resources!
Specialized or Subject Databases
Many of your topics will overlap with other fields, which is why it is important to check the database in these fields. This will help you ensure that you are not missing any important information!
International News Sources
Over 2,500 news sources [in English] from around the world.
Landing page for various newspaper collections provided by Readex. National & international coverage. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswire sources, and historical collections.
National, regional, and local newspapers with some coverage dating back to 1980. Also includes Hispanic newspapers and transcripts & video from CBS’ new magazine, 60 Minutes.
Types of Periodicals
Different types of periodicals have different types of information and are targeting different audiences.
What are the differences between the most commonly used the periodicals?
Academic (Scholarly) Journals
- Written by scholars.
- Few photographs or advertisements.
- Authors are easily identifiable, credentials are given.
- Does not attempt to entertain.
- Written by journalists for general public.
- Usually many photographs.
- Authors may be hard to identify.
- Attempts to entertain.
Want to learn more about different Types of Periodicals?
Internet Seach Engines
Tired of using the same old search engines?
Try using these other academic search engines. NOTE: these search engines will be available to you after you graduate!
Look for academic sources across the Internet and set it up that it will alert you if there is full text in the CSS Library databases.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources.
A unique search tool for finding free academic articles and books.
Microsoft Academic Search
Academic search engine from Microsoft.
A web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone.