Skip to Main Content

Exercise Physiology: Reference

Use this guide to getting started in your research in exercise physiology.

North Reading Room

The Raven, or North Reading Room, of the Library

Related Guides

Subject Encyclopedias
A guide to all specialized, scholarly encyclopedias available in the CSS collection

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference

A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.
eBooks

Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.
Salem Reference
Encyclopedias in literature, history, & science.

Credo Reference Tutorial

Master List of Subject Encyclopedias
A master list of scholarly print & electronic encyclopedias organized by discipline.

Reference Universe
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.

Reference Universe Tutorial

Britannica Online Academic Edition
College level version of the classic encyclopedia.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary ( OED )
The definitive source for the history of the English language.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary
This collegiate dictionary also includes a thesaurus.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 6th edtion.
2016.

Individual Reference Titles of Interest

Here is a sample of what is available in our collection of electronic encyclopedias for the Health Sciences.

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Publication Date: 2011
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 4th ed.
Publication Date: 2014
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 5th edition
Publication Date: 2020
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, 4th edition
Publication Date: 2018

Online Reference Collections

The Library offers several collections of online encyclopedias which, collectively, provide access to thousands of individual reference titles.

eBooks

Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
IGI Global Research
Hundreds of full-text e-reference books in the field of computers in the health sciences, medicine, & business.

Cite your encyclopedia article

Cite an encyclopedia article

In APA