Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Astronomy for Kids
Fun facts, photos, and games on the planets and moons in our solar system
Best Spanish Web Sites
Reviewed by a professor emeritus from University of Northern Iowa
Great Web Sites for Kids
From the American Library Association
Official kids' portal for the U.S. government
"...employs advances in machine learning, semantic inference and knowledge discovery to help you explore scholarly information in more powerful ways than ever before."
Offers pros and cons of controversial issues
Research Project Calculator
Enter information about a project and the program develops a personalized calendar with steps on how to accomplish the project
Study guides on various subjects such as Literature, U.S. History, Poetry, Biography, Civics, and more. Each study guide has an overview of the topic including timelines, statistics, photos, and links to more web sites.
From the Smithsonian Institute
SweetSearch: A Search Engine for Students
Results from searches have been evaluated by their research experts
Journalism project by Fred de Sam Lazaro (CSS Alum) "...focused on consequences of poverty and the work of change agents addressing them."
Resources for classroom activities, tools, and tips for how to integrate science into teaching
National Park Service's online Junior Ranger program for kids of all ages
Wired for Books
Poems, stories, plays, essay, lectures, and interviews by well-known authors, where some are read by their authors
Discovering American Women's History Online
Access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States
Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
From the Library of Congress, focuses on its digital collections including photographs and primary sources from around the world
Library of Congress: American Memory
Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience
Minnesota Digital Library
Include 135,000+ images and documents shared by more than 150 cultural heritage organizations across the state including Duluth, our College, and Monastery
A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events and things in Minnesota history.
World Digital Library
Primary documents like maps, photographs, books and from around the world
DigiBaeck | German-Jewish History Online
The Leo Baeck Institute, New York (LBI) is the foremost research institute devoted to the history of German-speaking Jews. Its 80,000-volume library and extensive archival and art collections represent the most significant repository of primary source material and scholarship on the Jewish communities of Central Europe over the past five centuries.
Digitized manuscripts & printed books from one of the world's greatest libraries.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Chinese ideograph-based terms, texts, temples, schools, and persons found in Buddhist canonical sources.
Glossary of Poetic Terms
Glossary of poetry terms including lines of poetry as examples of usage.
London Lives, 1600-1800: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis
London Lives makes available, in a fully digitised and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners. This resource includes over 240,000 manuscript and printed pages from eight London archives and is supplemented by fifteen datasets created by other projects. It provides access to historical records containing over 3.35 million name instances. Facilities are provided to allow users to link together records relating to the same individual, and to compile biographies of the best documented individuals.
Perseus Digital Library
"Perseus is a continually growing digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. The library's materials include ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs, and secondary essays on topics like vase painting. A collaborative team from a number of academic institutions has worked together to amass Perseus materials." Sponsored by the Classics Department of Tufts University, MA.
View digitized versions of various primary documents relating to Shakespeare's life, work, and influence.
Shakespeare in Quarto
See 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures. From the British Library.
Search the Time Out database of over 20,000 film reviews. The articles on this site are brief, well-written, and often quite amusing. Time Out has been publishing an annual guide in book form since 1989. This free web site appears to include all the brief reviews which are found in the print edition.
Visual History Archive Online
Over 51,000 personal testimonies of genocide.
Links to full-text of plays and to public domain books that contain criticism, such as the 1920s Cambridge History of English and American Literature in Eighteen Volumes.