Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Raven, or North Reading Room, of the Library
The simplest way to find a good background article on your topic is to search one of our reference eBook collections. But browsing is a fine way, too, and gives you access to thousands of print encyclopedias. And sometimes when you browse you find something you did not even know you were looking for.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, Mind Map, and links to our other databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Over 2,500 encyclopedias & reference works on a wide range of disciplines & topics.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
College level version of the classic encyclopedia.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Use Reference Universe to search the table of contents & indexes of the majority our print & electronic encyclopedia collection.
By their nature, atlases are visual information. So, if you need a graphic for your presentation or paper, browse our atlas collection for some bling to add to that PowerPoint.
Medieval & Renaissance Resources
A guide to reference materials on the Medieval and Renaissance world.
The World of the Eighteenth Century
A guide to reference materials related to life in, and the events of, the 18th century.