Skip to main content

Getting Started With Research Resources: 3. Articles

Information on how to find resources for research, evaluate, and ethically cite them, as well as writing and citation help.

Databases to Find Articles

Reference Desk Help

The CSS Library has many online databases to help you with your research. They contain primarily articles from periodicals such as journals. There are  two types of databases including general databases, which contain articles on all types of topics and specialized ones designed for a specific subject  area such as nursing, education,  psychology, business, etc.

 If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your Novell username and password - the same as what you use for Blackboard, COR, and  your CSS Gmail. All databases to which the CSS Library subscribes      

General Databases

Newspapers

Top Specialized Databases

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Email GraphicInterlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.


How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form. 

More information about interlibrary loan

Instructions on how to do an interlibrary loan

Finding Full-Text

If you cannot find the full-text to the article you are looking for in the database you are searching, try looking in the A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals list. This site will search both the CSS print subscriptions and all the CSS databases.

A to Z: Find Online & Print Journals    

NOTE: be sure to search for the JOURNAL title NOT the article title!!

Instructions for finding the full-text of an article

Document Delivery

Email Graphic

Rover is a document delivery service that supplies electronic copies of articles and loans books, DVDs, videos, audio, and other materials to distance users. Items are requested using the new online form for RoverYour user name is you library barcode number and your password is your last name.  If you do not know your library barcode number you can use the barcode lookup.

Once you are logged in select Book or Journal, add the citation information, and select "Distance Student" under pickup/delivery location. You can also use the Notes field to add additional information such as course number or your shipping address if you need a book shipped to your home. 

Book requests via Rover are delivered by first class mail / UPS. Allow time for processing (at least 1/2 day normally and up to 3 days depending on staffing). If we need to borrow the book from another library, this increases our delivery by one week.

Article requests via Rover for print journals held by the CSS Library will be scanned and delivered to your CSS email.

If you experience any difficulties or have questions, please email ill@css.edu.

Instructions for Databases