General Information
The archives at The College of St. Scholastica are housed in the Library. Materials in the archives include historical documents, student publications such as newspapers and yearbooks, college publications such as catalogs and the Times magazine, and departmental and committee documents.
These materials are open for viewing in the Library. Advance notification is strongly encouraged so someone will be able to assist you. Please email the Archives at archives@css.edu or call the Library (218-723-6140) for further help.
Publications Database
Click here to search the Publications Database
Through the College's Venture Fund and the Centennial budget, the following publications were able to be digitized and placed in an online database:
- Early publications including Institute Echoes (1903), Villa Sancta Scholastica Quarterly (1910-1927), and College Weekly (1927-28)
- Student newspapers beginning with the Scriptorium in 1932 to its end in 1969 and the Cable from its beginning in 1977 to the present
- The Towers Yearbooks starting in 1937 through 2001 with some years missing as for some years a yearbook was not published
- The Times magazine starting in 1971 to the present, In Between Times (1982-85), and Between Times starting in 1997 to the present
Every page of these publications can be searched simply by entering a name or phrase into the search field in the online database. Results of the search will display the page in pdf form, which can be saved, printed, or emailed. As these publications were already previously published and released to the public and past issues housed in the archives are freely open, this database is also similarly available.
Screen shot of database - Enter your search term in the field and click "Search." To limit to a publication or to a specific date range, click on the options on the left-hand side of the screen.
Links to Resources
Photographs (1950s and older) in Minnesota Reflections Digital Library
Shutterfly Web Site for 85 photos of art, sculpture, and artistic elements of the College
YouTube Video for Tower Hall's 100th Birthday Fall 2009 (exterior and interior photographs of building and its history)
Historical Photographs of the Campus: Daisy Farm, Somers Hall, Science Building, and Tower Hall
Click here to see a page from Campus Recreation on Gladys Swanson "Swanny."
The College of St. Scholastica Homepage
St. Scholastica Monastery Homepage
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Top five books are:: A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor; The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova; Devil and the White City by Erik Larson; Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett; Owl at Home by Arnold Lobel Best current read:: At Home with Flannery O'Connor: An Oral History - Interviews of people who personally knew her Best dog breed:: Mutt - britteny/cocker spaniel Current favorite quote:: "Librarians are the last people you can trust about the inside of books" by Flannery O'Connor Current favorite food:: Homemade cinnamon sorbet |
Loading...
