Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference, to "refer to"
Tenochtitlan, mural by Diego Rivera (1945). The largest and most beautiful city of the 16th century. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.
The Library has a deep collection of subject-specific encyclopedias for you to launch your research with. Start with thinking about thinking about history with the 6 volume New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Find out how women navigated the medieval world in Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia. Understand what made people leave the only home they had known and take ship to America with the Atlas of the Great Irish Famine. Get context for the history that is happening right now with Jim Crow: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic and Black Power Encyclopedia: From "Black is Beautiful" to Urban Uprisings.
Browse here for more history encyclopedias.
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes
Journal articles on history & politics
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of tull-text runs of journals. All content is at least five years old. JSTOR has opened all its content to users until the end of December, 2020.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content on the most important issues of the modern world.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, World History In Context provides an overview of world history.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs, including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and current coverage of U.S. history.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
One hundred full-text periodicals on the issues of war, terrorism, and security.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in world history.
GAO Reports This link opens in a new window
Called the “Watchdog of Congress,” the mission of the Government Accounting Office is to “provide Congress with timely information that is objective, fact-based, nonpartisan, non-ideological, fair, and balanced.” Full-text reports on a wide range of current topics.
Books and e-books for history
Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
211,193 current academic titles.
ScholastiCAT This link opens in a new window
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digitized editions of 146,000 books published in the United Kingdom from 1473-1700.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Many of these (mostly pre-1923 books) are fully available to the researcher.
The Venerable Bede
Portrait of Saint Bede the Venerable, from De Temporibus by Saint Bede the Venerable. English manuscript image from circa 12th-13th Century. A Benedictine monk, Bede is called the Father of English History. Image from Credo Reference.
School of Arts & Letters Librarian