Skip to main content

English & Literature Resources in the CSS Library: Welcome

Use Library resources for getting started on your paper and then the next great American novel!

Reference, to "refer to"

Dust jacket from the first edition of To the Lighthouse

Dust jacket from the first edition of To the Lighthouse. Designed by Vanessa Bell.  Image from Credo Reference.


For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.

Credo Logo


For more in-depth answers, check out such diverse works as the Gothic Literature: A Gale Critical Companion or The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature or Books to Film: Cinematic Adaptations of Literary Works or the ever-quirky A Dictionary of English Folklore.

Browse here for all our English & literature encyclopedias.


Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes.

Articles on English & Literature

Use the following Library databases for finding articles in English & literature journals.

Critical series

Use these series for entries on authors, specific works, genres, etc.

Handy tip: Take advantage of the tool to search "within series" in the right-hand column.

Books on English & Literature

Search for CSS print & ebooks on English & literature.

Search libraries other than CSS. Request books through InterLlibrary Loan.

You can also use this open source.

Louis Erdrich, Author

Photograph of author Louis Erdrich


Louis Erdrich, Anishinaabe author from Minnesota. Winner of the 2012 National Book Award for her novel The Round House. API image via Credo Reference.

Other Library databases

School of Arts & Letters Librarian

Todd White's picture
Todd White
Contact:
twhite@css.edu
218-723-6473