Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 4441 - Social Work with Community Systems: Units 5-9

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Unit Five

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


World with WWW across it      Website to View:

 


Inequality.org. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://inequality.org/

 

 

 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Video to Watch:


Video Title: Unnatural Causes: Not Just a Paycheck
Distributor:  California Newsreel
Length: 31:07
NOTE: This video is only available to registered students, faculty, and staff of the St. Scholastica Community. You will be required to login with your network username and password (the same username and password you use to login to Cor, Blackboard, and your CSS email).

 

Units 6-8

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Community Tool Box. (2016). Chapter 2: Assessing community needs and resources. Retrieved from http://ctb.dept.ku.edu/en/assessing-community-needs-and-resources

 

Optional - Climate Change Module

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Achstatter, L. (2014). Climate change: Threats to social welfare and social justice requiring social work intervention. 21st Century Social Justice, 1(1). Retrieved from http://fordham.bepress.com/swjournal/

 

Ife, J. (2001). Local and global practice: Relocating social work as a human rights profession in the new world order. European Journal of Social Work, 4, 5-15.

 

Ife, J. (2007). The new international agendas: What role for social work. Retrieved from International Federation of Social Workers website: http://ifsw.org/statements/the-new-international-agendas-what-role-for-social-work/

 

Loeb, P. R. (2014). The impossible will take a little while. New York, NY: St. Martin's. 

 

 

 

Speaker     

      Podcast to Listen to:

 


Fronek, P. (2012, November 20). Green social work: In conversation with Lena Dominelli [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.podsocs.com/podcast/green-social-work/

 

Optional - Food Systems Module

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Finn, J. L., & Jacobson, M. (2003). Just practice: Steps toward a new social work paradigm. Journal of Social Work Education, 39(1), 57-78.

 

Jacobson, M. (2007). Food matters: Community food assessments as a tool for change. Journal of Community Practice, 15(3), 37-55. doi:10.1300/J125v15n0303

 

Pollack, S., Wood, S., & Bradley, E. (2008). Fossil fuels and food security: Analysis and recommendations for community organizers. Journal of Community Practice, 16(3), 359-375. doi:10.1080/10705420802255114

 

Stark, C. (2010). The neoliberal ideology and the challenges for social work ethics and practice. Social Work Review, 9(1), 9-19.