Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWK 4441 - Social Work with Community Systems: Units 1-4

Click on the titles of the following articles & then log-in with your CSS Novell ID (user name and password as Cor, BlackBoard, or your CSS email).

Note about Accessing Articles in the Online Reading List

Image of a blue and green earth with a computer mouse and cord over it.Most of the articles in this online reading list are coming from the CSS Library databases. When using the Library databases and accessing the articles from any of the Online Reading Lists, be sure to use one of these internet browsers - Mozilla, Chrome, or Safari (Macs).  Do not use Internet Explorer. The databases do not work well in Internet Explorer. The vendors of the databases have been notified about this problem but they have not created a fix for this as of yet.

If you continue to have trouble accessing any of the articles, please contact Julie Rustad. Her contact information is located below.

Accessing Online Articles

To access the articles in the reading list:

  • Click on the linked title of the article,
  • Next, login to the system with your Novell user name and password (the same username and password as Cor, Blackboard courses, and CSS email),
  • You will then be brought into the database where you will find the record of the article.
  • Look for the PDF of the article - for Ebsco databases, look in the upper left corner; for the ScienceDirect database, look in the left corner below the two green circles; and for the ProQuest databases, look on the right side of the page in the small box next to the bold title of the article.

Unit One

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Carroll, J., & Minkler, M. (2000). Freire's message for social workers: Looking back, looking ahead. Journal of Community Practice, 8(1), 21-36.

 

Steyaert, J. (2013). 1970 Paulo Freire: Pedagogy of the oppressed. In History of social work. Retrieved from http://www.historyofsocialwork.org/eng/details.php?cps=21

 

Unit Two

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Articles to Read:

 


Community Tool Box. (2016). Chapter 16: Group facilitation and problem-solving. Retrieved from http://ctb.ku.edu/en/table-of-contents/leadership/group-facilitation

 

Community Tool Box. (2016). Chapter 17: Analyzing community problems and solutions. Retrieved from http://ctb.ku.edu/en/table-of-contents/analyze/analyze-community-problems-and-solutions

 

Fernandez, L. M. (1997). Running an effective task group: The 5 C's. The New Social Worker, 4(1). Retrieved from http://www.socialworker.com/

 

Unit Three

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Article to Read:

 


United Nations. (1948, December 10). Universal declaration of human rights. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/en/universal-declaration-human-rights/

 

 

 

Blue Video Play Button      

      Video to Watch:


Video Title: Holding Ground: The Rebirth of Dudley Street
Distributor:  New Days Films
Length: 58:53
NOTE: This video is only available to registered students, faculty, and staff of the St. Scholastica Community. You will be required to login with your network username and password (the same username and password you use to login to Cor, Blackboard, and your CSS email).

 

Unit 4

To access these articles, click on the citation. For some articles, you may be prompted for your network username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Blackboard, Cor, and your CSS email. If you encounter problems, please contact Julie Rustad.


     

     Article to Read:

 


Community Tool Box. (2016). Chapter 3, Section 1: Developing a plan for assessing local needs and resources. Retrieved from  http://ctb.ku.edu/en/table-of-contents/assessment/assessing-community-needs-and-resources/develop-a-plan/main