Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles on English & Literature
Use the following Library databases for finding articles in English & literature journals.
Gale Literature: LitFinder
Access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Use these series for entries on authors, specific works, genres, etc.
Handy tip: Take advantage of the tool to search "within series" in the right-hand column.
Books on English & Literature
Search for CSS print & ebooks on English & literature.
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
Academic eBook Collection
211,193 current academic titles.
Search libraries other than CSS. Request books through InterLlibrary Loan.
Search for books at other MN colleges.
Search for books in the major academic & public libraries of the United States and thirteen other countries.
You can also use this open source.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Many of these (mostly pre-1923 books) are fully available to the researcher.
School of Arts & Letters Librarian