Skip to main content

SWK 3395 - Social Work in Health Care: Online Reading List: Home

Class reading for SWK 3395.

  Citation Help

Use the Library's Citation Guide for APA style.

Social Work in Health Care

Social Work in Health Care, SW3395
Reading List

 

 

Overview of Social Work in Health Care

Required

Otis-Green, S. (2008). Health care social work. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e176

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 2. Fundamentals of social work health care practice. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713301&site=eds-live

NASW standards for social work practice in health care settings. (Copy will be provided in class).

Suggested Readings

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 1. Orientation to social work in the health field. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713300&site=eds-live

 

Social Work in Primary Care

Required

Ashery, R.S. (2008). Primary health care. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e301

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 3. Social work in primary care settings. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713302&site=ehost-live

  

Health Care Financing/Health Care Reform

Required

Galambos, E. (2008). Health Care. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e173-s1

Berger, C.S. (2008). Health Care Financing. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e174

Health care reform hits main street (2011). Retrieved from http://healthreform.kff.org/the-animation.aspx
[video]

What will happen under health care reform: And what's next? (2010). Columbia Journalism Review, 49 (May/June supp.), 1-3. Retrieved from http://www.commonwealthfund.org/~/media/Files/Publications/Other/2010/2010_CJR_insert_What_Next_web_415.pdf

Minnesota health care programs: Income and asset limits (2010). Retrieved from https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-4346-ENG

Tolbert, Jennifer. (2010). Health reform: An overview. Retrieved from http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Health-Reform-Overview.aspx

Suggested Readings

Kaiser Family Foundation (2010). Five facts about the uninsured. Retrieved from http://www.kff.org/uninsured/upload/7806-03.pdf 

Kaiser Family Foundation (2010). The uninsured and the difference health insurance makes. Retrieved from http://www.kff.org/uninsured/upload/1420-12.pdf

Rowland,  Diane. (2009). Medicaid: The basics. Retrieved from http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Medicaid-The-Basics.aspx

Neuman, Tricia. (2009). Medicare 101: The basics. Retrieved from http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Medicare-the-Basics.aspx

Pollitz, Karen. (2006). Private health insurance 101. Retrieved from http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Private-Health-Insurance.aspx

Hoffman, Catherin. (2009). Health insurance and access to health care: The evidence. Retrieved from http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Health-Insurance-and-Access-to-Health-Care.aspx

 

Social Work in Hospitals

Required

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 4. Social work in hospitals. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713303&site=ehost-live

Gregorian, Camille. (2005). A career in hospital social work: Do you have what it takes? Social Work in Health Care, 40(3), 1-14. 

 

Social Work in Long Term Care

Required

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 5. Social work in home health care/home care.  In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713304&site=ehost-live  

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 6.  Social work in nursing homes. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713305&site=ehost-live  

NASW Standards for Social Work Services in Long-Term Care Facilities. (Copy will ber provided in class.)

 

Cultural Issues in Health Care

Required 

Cultural aspects of healthcare. Retrieved from http://www.css.edu/Academics/ATHENS-Project/Help-Page/Cultural-Aspects-of-Healthcare.html

 

Social Work in Health Care: Health Issues for Various Populations

Suggested Resources

 

 

Social Work in Mental Health Care

Required

Greeno, C.G. & Solomon, P. (2008). Mental health: Overview. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e243-s1

Greeno, C.G. & Solomon, P. (2008). Mental health: Practice interventions. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e243-s2  

 

Social Work in Health Care Rehabilitation

Required

Springer, D.W. & Casey, K.A. (2008). Rehabilitation. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e340

 

Social Work in Hospice

Required

Raymer, M. & Reese, D.J. Hospice. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e184

Sormanti, M. Bereavement practice. In Encyclopedia of social work. Retrieved from http://www.oxford-naswsocialwork.com.akin.css.edu/entry?entry=t203.e31

Suggested Readings

Fort Cowles, L.A. (2003). Chapter 7.  Social work in nursing homes. In Social work in the health field: A care perspective. Retrieved from http://akin.css.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=21713306&site=ehost-live