Common Citation Styles at CSS
APA Manual, 6th ed.

- Used within the Social Sciences including Business, Education, Psychology, etc.
MLA Handbook, 7th ed.

Used within the Humanities including English, History, Communication, etc.
AMA Manual, Rev. ed.

- Used within the Medical field including Physical Therapy (PT), Occupational Therapy (OT), and Exercise Physiology.
Turabian/Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.

- Used within the field of History.
APA, 6th Edition Overview
This LibGuide is to help you use the American Psychological Association (APA) style guide, which is frequently used for the social sciences including education, management, psychology, and the health sciences.
This guide can help you with the more fundamental tasks including:
1. Reference Formats - examples and explanations for citing your sources in the various formats for your References list
2. Formatting Your Paper - how to set up your paper including the margins, font, and your References list, and view a sample paper
3. In-text citations - also known as parenthetical notation - how to cite your references in the text of your paper
4. EndNote - bibliographic citation software, which can help format your citations and is freely available for download to CSS faculty, staff, and students
5. Avoiding Plagiarism - information on the College's academic honesty policy and turnitin, an online tool to detect where sources need to be cited
Note: This guide is in no way a replacement for the actual manual, which is several hundred pages long, and can be found in the Library on reserve or at a bookstore near you. Please consult the APA 6th edition manual for authoritative information in greater detail. Also feel free to talk with a librarian for more help.
Q&A about APA
Hey, you're not the only one who has ever had a question about APA! Browse our list of previous questions or ask a new one!
- how do i cite and reference online encyclopedias
- How do I cite an online video series in APA as a reference and in text?
- how do I cite in APA an article that is in press? following is the article info, do I include the dpi also?? thanks
- how do I cite photos on a website I am creating? I found these on google images and possibly a book.
- In a case study paper, do I have to spell out CVA, MI and CABG the first time they are used? All are commonly known and used by the professor and
- How many spaces after a period at the end of a sentence?
- In the APA Manuel 6th edition, part 7.01 it states "if each issue of a journal begins on page 1, give the issue number in parentheses immediately
- I am referencing one book, however, using it in several locations. Do I reference more than once if one citation has a pg. # and the others do not?
- How do i cite an online subscription?
- How do you cite in APA an online database (i.e.: Lexi-comp Online)?
- How do you do seriation?
- How do I cite my own work
- How do I cite the same study multiple times in the same paragraph? APA 6.11 is extremely vague/confusing about this.
- How do I cite a state statute in APA?
- How do I cite a PowerPoint presentation from a conference proceeding?
- In referencing an edited book, does the author/editor of the chapter listed first then the year then the chapter then In (with all the editors listed
- How do I site an interview I read on a website?
- how do I cite a publication date with a revised edition
- What is the difference between an "edited" and "non-edited" book? Specifically, where a textbook has two main authors, but each chapter is written
- What is the appropriate way to cite a source that is posted as a link from the course readings? The URL is: ht
- Are you supposed to use two spaces after every period on the reference list page? As in, "Wilson, J. (2007). A guide to computers...."
- how do I cite a website on space mission using APA 5 reference?
- How do I access to APA manual 6th edition before doing dicussion post?
- How do I cite in-text, a website journal with no author, in APA?
- How should I cite Bloomberg
- Do I need to have APA citations (footnotes) on every slide of a power point or do I just list them at the end of the presentation?
- Apart from direct quotes is there ever a time when I'd use a page number only?
- I'm trying to create a header for a paper in APA, but I can't get the title to stay on left-hand side and the page number to stay on the right hand s
- How do I cite a website in APA without a copyright date?
- How do I cite a website within text using APA formatting? this is the website: http://www.rtinetwork.org/
- how do I cite notes from a power point presented in a class?
- APA: So, no page number in-text or in reference list when paraphrasing from a book, web site, etc.?
- APA formatting
- How does one do an in text citation of an annual report APA style?
- Do all Journal articles from a database have a DOI number? I cannot find it on the article I wish to use. Any way you could take a look at the articl
- I have to site an online article in APA format, but the only information it gives me is a association (United States Department of Argiculture) the d
- Does an annotated bibliography require a cover page? What are the spacing/indenting requirements for an annotated bibliography?
- I need to make a bullet-point list in APA. What symbols do I use?
- When do I spell a number versus write the numerical form of the number?
- How do I reference a class lecture in APA?
- Do I need to provide an in-text citation for an ABC news story in my paper if I already provided the person's name?
- how to cite National clearinghouse guidelines
- can I use initial for paranthetical citations if I have given the abbreviation in the text example Natural Medicine Comprehensive Datatbase (NMCD) f
- how do I cite an article from the Agency Healthcare Research and Quality. It has authors listed, so do I use their names or the website. Also which
- How do I cite Webster's 3rd Dictionary, Unabridged, in APA format when I used it on the CSS library webpage and looked up multiple words?
- How do I cite a home instruction exercise sheet?
- how do I cite from a webster dictionary, apa style? Is it just like a book?
- How do you cite a youtube video in APA style
- How do I cite a website in APA formatting? It is the Arthritis Foundation website and I am confused how to cite it for my references.
- How do you cite a photograph in APA
Writing Help
Having trouble with getting started on your paper? Would you like your paper edited before turning it in?
The Rose Frenzel Warner Writing/Critical Thinking Center is available to help! For more information, click here.
APA Citation Help
Other APA Citation Resources:
NEW! APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th edition
Atomic Learning - Many short tutorials on all aspects of APA from how to create a title page to compiling your references. You will have to log in with your network username and password (same as for Blackboard and CSS email).
Narrated Tutorial - from The College of St. Scholastica Library
LibAnswers - Questions from CSS students answered by CSS Librarians
Plagiarism.org - Web site sponsored by WriteCheck and Turnitin and gives lots of help for learning what plagiarism is and how to avoid it through correct citations
APA (6th Edition) - The Alvin Sherman Library at Nova Southeastern University.
APA Formatting and Style Guide - OWL - APA tutorial created by Purdue University.
APA Citation Style - Cornell University
Narrated Tutorials from the Harvard Graduate School of Education
APA Style - Hints and tips from the APA web site.
Citation Machine - interactive web tool designed to assist students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties
Narrated Library Tutorials
Here is a series of tutorials complete with pictures and narration explaining Library resources:

Loading...
