CSSLibraryGuides: HIM 3132: Medicolegal Issues: Articles

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to request books, videos, and articles from other libraries.

How does it work?
Find the book, video or other article you want. Check to make sure the CSS Library does not have it or have online access to it. Then, fill out an online form.

Top HIM Databases

MedLine Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the most important journal database for articles in medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 650 medical titles. It includes HIM journals such as Journal of AHIMA, Journal of Healthcare Management, and Journal of Health Care Finance.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Broadest coverage for business. Includes academic journals, trade publications, & company information.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text for thousands of journals in nursing and allied health. It includes full-text for some of the core titles in HIM including Journal of Healthcare Management and the Health Information Management Journal.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals.
SOLAR This link opens in a new window
This is our google-like discovery service which searches against nearly all of our electronic dtabases.

More Health-Related Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Cochrane Library
A unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.
Consumer Health Complete
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
HealthSource - Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
Broadest coverage for the fields of social work and sociology

Tables of Contents

In most databases, it is possible to browse the tables of contents of indexed journals. Below are links to tables of contents pages for a few titles which might be of interest.

Healthcare Informatics

JAMA

Journal of AHIMA

Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA)

Journal of Healthcare Management

Journal of Enterprise Information Management

Medical Decision Making

New England Journal of Medicine

Perspectives in Health Information Management