Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Morning in the South Reading Room of the Library.
SOLAR is the Library's discovery service. It searches our print, eBook, and journal databases, and other librarian-selected resources. It's best when you are looking for a few books & articles or if you are open to serendipity. Use our specialized databases if you are looking for a more thorough search.
Academic Search Premier is our workhorse. It has something for everyone, and if we were allowed only one database, it would be ASP.
SOLAR This link opens in a new window
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
The CSS Library offers you access to over 200 databases. Here are some "best bets" that focus on the classes offered at CSS. Use the All Databases tab to take a deep dive into what the Library can offer.
Specialized databases offer you the use of controlled vocabulary which allows for an organized and thorough search on a topic.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Premier database for psychology. Includes indexing of journals, books, & dissertations.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Citations to journals (including over 450 full-text journals), essays, and book reviews. Includes the former Catholic Periodical & Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Broadest coverage for business. Includes academic journals, trade publications, & company information.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health). Comprehensive coverage of the nursing literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Best coverage of the educational literature.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million articles and over 150 journals indexed in Art Index and RILM.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
MedLine Complete This link opens in a new window
The premier medical database.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Broadest coverage of the scholarship of literature.
Science Direct Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in a wide range of scientific disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Best sociology-specific database. Includes, journals, books, & conference papers.
The CSS Library offers access to hundreds of local, national, and international newspapers ranging in date from the early 19th century to this very morning.
The CSS Library offers access to over 200 databases. To determine which is the right one for your topic, use the drop down All Subjects Menu on our Databases, A to Z menu.