Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a number of notable non-academic writers in film who have made significant contributions to film criticism. Many of these authors have written for newspapers (e.g. The New York Times) or distinguished American periodicals (The New Yorker, The New Republic, etc...)
Below is a select list of critics which you might encounter when searching our journal and newspaper databases:
- James Agee - Time, The Nation
- Vincent Canby - The New York Times
- Bosley Crowther - The New York Times
- David Denby - The New Yorker
- Roger Ebert - Chicago Sun Times
- David Edelstein - New York Post, Village Voice, The New York Times
- Philip French - The Times, Sight and Sound
- J. Hoberman - The Village Voice
- Stanley Kauffman - The New Republic
- Pauline Kael - The New Yorker
- Anthony Lane - The New Yorker
- Andrew Sarris - The Village Voice, New York Observer
- A.O. Scott - The New York Times
- David Thomson - The New Republic
Film & Television Literature Index
Academic Search Premiere
Academic Search Premier
This database includes indexing for a number of relevant journal titles including Film History, Film Quarterly, and Sight & Sound. There is full-text for Cineaste (1990-), Film Comment (2002-) and Cinema Journal (1996-; 1 yr. delay). Try searching on your film title and director in the Advanced search mode.
National, regional, and local newspapers with some coverage dating back to 1980. Also includes Hispanic newspapers and transcripts & video from CBS’ new magazine, 60 Minutes.
New York Times (Historical)
New York Times, Historical (1851-2014)
This is an exceptionally good source for finding older movie reviews. To find original reviews, I recommend using the Advanced search: use the boolean indicator AND to search on both the film title and director. For the search type, you can use the default of "document citation and text." It can be helpful to place a date limitation on your search for the year that the movie was released.
Film Literature Index
Film Literature Index
Online index to citations for over 700,000 articles, film and book reviews. Coverage is from 1976 to 2001.
Note: Since this database does not come with full-text, you will want to check our discovery tool, SOLAR, to see if we have access to the full-text of articles of interest. We would recommend copying the article title from the Film Literature Index, then pasting it into SOLAR, using a title search there. If you don't find a reference to the article in SOLAR, you can place a request for the article by filling out our ILL form.
"Google" all the Library's great resources.
New York Times' Obituary for Walt Disney
Walt Disney, 65, Dies on Coast
The Times' obituary for Walt Disney from December 16, 1966, includes biographical and critical information which might be useful in your research of the filmmaker.