CSSLibraryGuides: Subject Encyclopedias @ The College of St. Scholastica Library: CULTURE & LIFESPAN

Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref. GT76 .W54 2017
3 volumes.
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World: A Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs
Call Number: Ref. BJ1815 .E86 2017
The Ashgate Research Companion to Fan Cultures
2014.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ref. GT2850 .E53 2003
3 volumes.
Taste: A Philosophy of Food
2021.
The Cambridge World History of Food
Call Number: Ref. TX353 .C255 2000
2 volumes.
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gatherers to the Age of Globalization
Call Number: Ref. TX349 .S66 2013
2 volumes.
Culinary Herbs & Spices of the World
Call Number: Ref. SB351.H5 .V36 2013
The Oxford Companion to Cheese
Call Number: Ref. SF270.2 .O94 2016
The Oxford Companion ot Sugar and Sweets
Call Number: Ref. TP421 .O94 2015
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Call Number: Ref. TX349 .E45 2013
3 volumes.
Food and Drink in America: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. TX349 .F5716 2013
3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of North American Eating and Drinking Customs
Call Number: Ref. GT2853.U5 G39 1996
Food and Famine in the 21st Century
Call Number: Ref. HC79.F3 F66 2012
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food
Call Number: Ref. HD9005 .E645 2010
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology
Call Number: Ref. TP368.2 .E62 2000
4 volumes.
Food, Fermentation, and Micro-organisms
2019.
Foods and Nutrition Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. TX349 .F575 1983
2 volumes.
Healthy Foods: Facts Versus Fiction
Call Number: Ref. TX355 .G67 2010
Food and Nutrition Controversies Today: A Reference Guide
Ref. TX357 .G5745 2009
Fast Food and Junk Food: An Encyclopedia of What We Love To Eat
Call Number: Ref. TX370 .S635 2012
2 volumes.
Cultural Encyclopedia of Vegetarianism
Call Number: Ref. TX392 .C85 2010
Sweet Treats Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ref. TX783 .R635 2014
Food at Sea: Shipboard Cuisine from Ancient to Modern Times
Call Number: Ref. TX840.M7 S67 2015
North American Cornucopia: Top 100 Indigenous Food Plants
Call Number: Ref. QK98.5.N57 S67 2013
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
2014. 3 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
2 volumes. 2017.
Food, Feasts, and Faith: An Encyclopedia of Food Culture in World Religions
Call Number: Ref. BL65.F65 F54 2017
2 volumes.
Avocado: A Global History
2020.
Corn: A Global History
2017.
Edible Insects: A Global HIstory
2021.
Mustard: A Global History
2019.
Oishi: The History of Sushi
2021.
Oyster: A Global History
2017.
Soda and Fizzy Drinks: A Global History
Tomato: A Global HIstory
2019.

Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .E53 2005
3 volumes.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .G74 2008
3 volumes. See volume one for clothing from pre-history to 1500 A.D.
Clothing Through American History: The British Colonial Era
Call Number: Ref. GT607 .S735 2013
Clothing Through American History: The Federal Era through Antebellum, 1786-1860
Call Number: Ref. GT607 .W37 2010
Hat and Headwear Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. GT2110 .C46 2013
Feet & Footwear: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. GT2130 .D45 2009
The Art of Medieval Jewelry: An Illustrated HIstory
2021.
Fashion: The Whole Story
Call Number: Ref. TT504 .F36 2013
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body
Call Number: Ref. HM636 .C85 2008
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History
Call Number: Ref. TT957 .S46 2006
The American Beauty Industry Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. TT958 .A44 2010
Inked: Tattoos and Body Art Around the World
Call Number: Ref. GT2345 .D46 2014
2 volumes. 2014.
Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref. GT76 .W54 2017
3 volumes.
The History of Modern Fashion
2015.

Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. GT3925 .R69 2005
2 volumes.
Holiday Symbols
Call Number: Ref. GT3930 .T48 2000
African-American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations: The History, Customs, Symbols Associated with Both Traditional and Contemporary Religious and Secular Events Observed by Americans of African Descent
Call Number: Ref. GT4803.A2 G39 2007
Encyclopedia of Easter, Carnival, and Lent
Call Number: Ref. GT4935 .G85 2002
Encyclopedia of Christmas: Nearly 200 Alphabetically Arranged Entries Covering All Aspects of Christmas, Including Folk Customs, Religious Observances, History, Legends, Symbols, and Related Days from Europe, America, and Around the World
Call Number: Ref. GT4985 .E45 2000
The traditions which have grown up around the Christmas season, i.e. the killing of the wren on St. Stephan's Day.
Patriotic Holidays of the United States: An Introduction to the History, Symbols, and Traditions Behind the Major Holidays and Days of Observance
Call Number: Ref. JK1761 .H46 2006
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Call Number: Ref. GV53 .E53 2004
2 volumes.

Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Call Number: Ref. GV53 .E53 2004
2 volumes.
The Routledge History of American Sport
2017.
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ref. GV 567 .E56 1996
3 volumes.
Ancient Roman Sports, A-Z
2019.
Encyclopedia of North American Sports History
Call Number: Ref. GV567 .H518 1991
Sports in America: From Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century
Call Number: Ref. GV583 .S68588 2011
3 volumes.
A to Z of Women: American Women in Sports, 2nd edition
2016.
Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
Call Number: Ref. GV709 .S44 1996
[very few bibliographies].
Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports
Call Number: Ref. GV709.18.U6 M58
The Business and Culture of Sports: Society, Politics, Economy, Environment
Call Number: Ref. GV716 .B866 2019
4 volumes. 2019.
The Great Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Major League Baseball
2006.
Soccer Around the World: A Cultural Guide to the World's Favorite Sport
Call Number: Ref. GV 943.25 .P37 2014
Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia of History and Innovation
Call Number: Ref. GV1101 .M29 2010
2 volumes.
Historical Dictionary of Boxing
Call Number: Ref. GV118 .G73 2013
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports
Call Number: Ref. GV749.7 .B47 2007
The Encyclopedia of Sports and Recreation for People with Visual Impairments
2012.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies
2020.
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
Call Number: Ref. HQ767.84 .E53 2003
3 volumes.
The SAGE Handbook of Global Childhoods
2021.
Girlhood in American: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ777 .G5745 2001
2 volumes.
Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ798 .G523 2008
2 volumes. Ref. HQ798 .G523 2008
Encyclopedia of Adolescence, 2nd edition
2018.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Call Number: Ref. HQ796 .E58 1990
2 volumes.
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Call Number: Ref. HQ796 .I58 2007
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Call Number: Ref. HQ784.M3 E53 2007
2 volumes.
The World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey
Call Number: Ref. HD6231 .W67 2009
Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref. GT76 .W54 2017
3 volumes.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships
Call Number: Ref. HQ515 .M336 2019
2019. 2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
Call Number: Ref. HQ9 .E52 1995
2 volumes.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
Call Number: Ref. HQ9 .E52 2003
4 volumes.
Marriage Customs Around the World, 2nd edition
Call Number: Ref. GT2690 .M65 2013
2 volumes,.
Marriage Customs Around the World: From Henna to Honeymoons
Call Number: Ref. GT2690 .M65 2004
Marriage, Family & Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ734 .B76 1994
Cultural Sociology of Divorce
Call Number: Ref. HQ814 .C857 2013
3 volumes. 2013.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies
4 volumes. 2016.
The Social History of the American Family
Call Number: Ref. HQ535 .S63 2014
4 volumes.
Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ755.8 .P3783 2000
2 volumes.
The Encyclopedia of Parenting Theory and Research
Call Number: Ref. HQ755.8 .E523 1999
Parenting A to Z
Call Number: Ref. HQ769 .F717 1996
Encyclopedia of Adoption
Call Number: Ref. HV875.55 A28 2000
The SAGE Handbook of Family Communication
2015.

The Encyclopedia of Aging
Call Number: Ref. HQ1061 .E53 2006
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Financial Gerontology
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1061 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of Aging
Call Number: Ref. HQ1061 .E534 2002
4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Home Care for the Elderly
Call Number: Ref. HV1461 .E5 1995
Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref. GT76 .W54 2017
3 volumes.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .M33 2003
2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Death
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .E54 1989
Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. GT3150 .T25 2000
The A to Z of Death & Dying: Social, Medical, and Cultural Aspects
Call Number: Ref. HQ1073 .A22 2014
Encyclopedia of Cremation
2005.
Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref. GT76 .W54 2017
3 volumes.