Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference, to "refer to"
The 1965 civil rights march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama. Image from Credo Reference.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.
If all politics are local, use our collection of specialty encyclopedias to learn about human rights here at home with the 3rd edition of Human Rights in the United States, and the history of dissent with Civil Disobedience: An Encyclopedic History of Dissidence in the United States or the Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. What is social media’s role in the new world of protest? Try the Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics. How do the rights of women in the United States compare with other countries around the world? Take a look at Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide. Start your research “local” with resources from the Library.
Browse here for more peace & justice encyclopedias.
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes
Journal & magazine articles for Peace & Justice Studies
Academic Search Premier
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Over 250 journals on law, law enforcement, terrorism, training for paralegal service, and more.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Journals and reference books on soil science, agronomy, food, crop growing, the environment, and more.
Journals, magazines, & government documents focusing on the relationship between humans & the environment.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Authoritative content on the most important issues of the modern world.
Books for Peace & Justice studies
Academic Ebook Collection
201,528 current academic titles.
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
New title available in Credo
The Routledge History of World Peace Since 1750
Publication Date: 2019.
The Routledge History of World Peace since 1750 examines the varied and multifaceted scholarship surrounding the topic of peace and engages in a fruitful dialogue about the global history of peace since 1750. Interdisciplinary in nature, the book includes contributions from authors working in fields as diverse as history, philosophy, literature, art, sociology, and Peace Studies. The book crosses the divide between historical inquiry and Peace Studies scholarship, with traditional aspects of peace promotion sitting alongside expansive analyses of peace through other lenses, including specific regional investigations of the Middle East, Africa, Latin America, and other parts of the world. Divided thematically into six parts that are loosely chronological in structure, the book offers a broad overview of peace issues such as peacebuilding, state building, and/or conflict resolution in individual countries or regions, and indicates the unique challenges of achieving peace from a range of perspectives. Global in scope and supported by regional and temporal case studies, the volume is an essential resource for educators, activists, and policymakers involved in promoting peace and curbing violence as well as students and scholars of Peace Studies, history, and their related fields.
The beginnings of environmental justice
Rachel Carlson (1907-1964). Author who wrote several environmental books in the 1940's and 1950's. Her last book, Silent Spring, published just before her death, challenged human's use of pesticides and how we think of the natural world and led to the EPA banning the use of DDT.
School of Arts & Letters Librarian