Skip to main content

Spanish Language Resources in the CSS Library: Home

Use this guide for access to library resources for your research in Spanish language studies.

Reference, to "refer to"

The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters, etching by Goya.
“The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters,” etching from the series Los Caprichos, by Spanish artist Francisco Jose’ de Goya y Lucientes (1746-1828).


For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.

Credo Logo


Use our collection of subject encyclopedias to explore MesoAmerican culture from its inception with The Oxford Encyclopedia of MesoAmerican Cultures or The Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya. Read about how the world changed with European contact in the four volume series that begins with Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Latin America (Prehistory to 1550s) and ends with Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present). Learn about individual countries with Modern Mexico, Brazil Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic, or Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture. Travel east to the Old World with The Spanish Empire: An Historical Encyclopedia or Modern Spain: Understanding Modern Nations. Encyclopedias offer you overviews and insights to help you narrow in on your research.


Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes

Journal & magazine articles for Spanish Language Studies



Academic books & e-books for Spanish Language studies

Academic eBook Collection offers over 1,000 titles written in Spanish. Browse the title list here.


Mexican muralists

Struggle for emancipation [painting]
Struggle for Emancipation, by Mexican artist David Alfaro Siqueiros. 1961. Image from WikiArt.


Mural artists David Alfaro Siqueiros, with Diego Rivera & José Clemente Orozco, were known as “Los Tre Grandes” These three artists, through their public murals, created a vision of Mexican identity.

School of Arts & Letters Librarian

Todd White's picture
Todd White
Contact:
twhite@css.edu
218-723-6473