Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference, to "refer to"
View of Notre Dame from the Seine, by Henri Alphonse Barnoin, (1882-1935). Image from Credo Reference.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.
From the original print Catholic Encyclopedia published in 1911 to the electronic version of the 2nd edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia, the Library offers you an ‘encyclopedic’ take on the history and world of Catholicism. Learn about the Church’s mission for justice with Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy. Delve into a religious order with The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Jesuits. Find a favorite female author with Catholic Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Learn to interpret stained glass windows with Signs & Symbols in Christian Art. Or go deep into Papal trivia with The Death of Popes: Comprehensive Accounts, Including Funerals, Burial Places, and Epitaphs.
Browse encyclopedias on Catholicism.
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes.
Journal & magazine articles for Catholic Studies
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Citations to journals (including over 450 full-text journals), essays, and book reviews. Includes the former Catholic Periodical & Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Over 200 journals and magazines covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
Books and e-books for Catholic Studies
Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
211,193 current academic titles.
ScholastiCAT This link opens in a new window
ScholastiCAT is the Library's catalogue, a listing of its books by author, title, & subject. Videos are also included. ScholastiCAT will search all of our print books, our video & media, and a portion of our e-books collections.
The Catholic perspective
New Catholic Encyclopedia
The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
The Catholic Worker Movement
Photograph of Dorothy Day, from Credo Reference.
Journalist & social activist, Day (1897-1980) helped found the the Catholic Worker Movement, which called on the Catholic Church to remember its mission to serve the poor.
School of Arts & Letters Librarian