Landscape with the Fall of Icarus. Pieter Bruegel the Elder (or not?) n.d. Learn more at the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium.
For the student and scholar, reference can have two meaning. One, a source that you can refer to for answers, and also the source, or reference, that accompanies a book or article. A good encyclopedia article gives you the best of both. Try starting your research with Credo Reference.
For scope depth of scholarship, nothing beats the 34 volume Encyclopedia of Art. But other, smaller, gems are waiting on the shelf for you, too. Browse Signs and Symbols in Christian Art and learn that all those old paintings are full of the equivalent of medieval emojis. If you have taken life drawing, see the amazing evolution of the art of anatomy in Human Anatomy: From the Renaissance to the Digital Age. Or take a tour of the evolution of art with Arts and Humanities Through the Eras.
Browse art encyclopedias.
Remember to check the bibliography at the end of an article - a basic trick to build your own bibliography for your paper. Browse the master list of print & electronic encyclopedias available to you as a student for more great sources for your other classes
Our database with the broadest coverage of all disciplines.
Our phones have made us all search & swipers. Try giving your thumb a rest and do some old school retro-browsing. The art books in the Library are located along the south (Monastery-side) wall of the second floor of the Library. If you are feeling out-of-sorts one day, grab a coffee, head-down to the Library, and walk the stacks. If a title looks interesting, pull a book from a shelf and leaf through it. You may discover artists, schools, styles, and techniques that you would never come across on your phone.
A page from the Gottingen Model Book, a 15th century how-to-book for the aspiring Bob Rosses of the medieval scriptorium.
